First Day

September 3, 2008 at 10:37 am (Uncategorized)

We got our new school year off to a great start! Here are some pictures from our first day of the new school year. 

I wanted to have some kind of project for the kids to do together the first day of the new school year.  Since we are in a new state and a new house I thought it would be fun for them to make a stepping stone together for our new yard. 

Here are the boys decorating the stepping stone.
My 4 year old really liked the mask that came with the kit!  LOL

Here they all are enjoying working together.

Posing for a first day of school picture!
Yep, he wanted to wear the mask for ALL the pictures!  LOL

After we finished our stepping stone we all spent some time reading together about our new state.  I don’t know how deep of a state study we will do, but I am reading them the Discover America State By State book for our state. We will probably at least do the activites in the free

Teacher’s Guide and the Free pdf’s student guide for our state.  Time will only tell if it turns into a lapbook! 

So here are our first day of the new school year pictures!

My Preschooler

My Grade Schooler

My High Schooler!

Here is my youngest proudly showing off his projects for the day!

He did the mini books for the letter A from the ABC Lap-N-Note I mentioned yesterday. He is also wearing a crown he made from the book Adorable Wearables That Teach Early Concepts.  The object of the crown was to teach patterning.  He had to color circles, squares and triangles and then stick them on in a reoccurring pattern.  He LOVED IT!  You will be seeing more projects from this book in the coming weeks.   There are 12 fun project in it and since my little man is all about dressing up this is perfect for him! (It seemed worth the money for $11.95!)

My daughter and I finished up her Felicity American Girl Lapbook that we started last year.  I will try to post pictures of it soon. We also worked on telling time with a Barbie kit I bought last year at a used curriculum sale.  She has been working on telling time with her dad and is doing really good.  I thought I better get out the Barbie clock and let her use it before it was too late!

My 14 year old is working pretty much independently.  I will have to post about all the things he is doing.

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

2 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    It sure looks like you all had a great first day!
    You find the best stuff to work on : )
    Were you able to find the "Discover America State By State Series" books in your library or did you have to buy it?
    I really enjoy your blog, You do a great job with it!
    Best Wishes,
    Donna
    http://homeschoolingsunnyflorida.blogspot.com/

  2. jaminacema said,

    I bought the book for our state. However, when we were in las Vegas I had checked out many of the states from the Library. They had them all. I would think most Libraries would at least have the state they are located in.

    J

Leave a Reply

