Lapbooking Crate – Organization

September 9, 2008 at 9:00 am (Uncategorized)

Yesterday I was cleaning out our lapbooking crate and I thought it might be interesting to show off how I have our lapbook goodies organized and what we keep handy for lapbooking.

This is our lapbooking crate.  It has everything we need to lapbook in it, plus the current lapbooks we are working on.
I bought the crate at Fry’sElectronics in Las Vegas. This one was on sale for less than $20.00.  They also sell them at teacher supply places, scrapbooking stores and online.  I own FOUR crates and I can’t live without them! LOL

This is the bag all the little items are organized in.  (I bought it at Wal-Mart for around $10.00.)
This is great because is has all our tools handily organized.  I can just grab the one bag, sit it on the table and everything is easy to access.

Here is what’s in the bag above.
Xyron sticker maker, glue dots, glue sticks, tape, hole punch, texture boards, pens & pencils, brads, ribbon, plasitc bags (for containing small pieces as needed), packing tape, scissors, staplers, clips.  A lot more could fit in this bag.  It actaully has several storage areas I have nothing in.  It’s good to have room to grow!

This is what is in the rest of the crate.
Large black portfolio, card stock and sand paper, fold down trash can, box of multi-color file folders, color pencils, crayons, 3 packs of decorative folders, large ziploc bags.  One for each kid, plus some that say completed for items we are waiting to glue into lapbooks when we are all done. (The sand paper is for making sand paper letters for my 4 yo to trace in his ABC Lap-N-Note we are making.)

The fold down trash can I found at the .99 Cent Only Store in Las Vegas.  It is awesome!  I bought 2 for me (One for lapbooking and one for scrapbooking.) and one for a scrapbooking friend. :^) This helps so much!  The only thing I don’t like about lapbooking is all the scraps of paper that tend to go everywhere.  With having the trash can right on the table that problem is reduced signifigantly!

The black portfolio is designed for 12"X12" scrapbook paper.  I bought it at JoAnn’s.  In it I have paper of all colors, stickers, reference material for upcoming projects, and lapbooks I have printed out for future use.

I put all this together in January right before we were starting the process of moving across country.  I wanted to have all our lapbooking supplies together in one place ready to go whereever we went! It was super handy while we were staying at our friends for 2 months looking for a house.  But, now that we are settled I still LOVE having it all stored this way.  I can say "Let’s lapbook!" and we are ready in a minutes time!  (And if someone invites us over to lapbook we are ready for that too!  LOL  Hey, it could happen!)

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

4 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    Thanks for the peek into your lapbook crate! Your blog is so inspiring! We're starting a dinosaur lapbook this week! Can't wait!

    Sherry

    http://educatingemme.blogspot.com

  2. Julia said,

    Hey! Do you want to come over and lapbook with us? We are also doing the ABC one and others. We would love to have you. It would also be great because we could find a glue stick in your handy bag!! We hardly ever have glue sticks where they can be found. We live in SC so it would be a long trip, but you could bring stuff to do in the new van!!
    Thanks for all the inspiration and giggles.

  3. eclecticeducation said,

    I LOVE your little trash container!!!! While I doubt I will find one of them (especially for $.99!), it did get me thinking that is something I lack in my lapbooking supplies!!! A small can for all the scrap paper would be a great addition to our supplies. Thanks for the suggestion! 🙂

  4. Shelly said,

    Wow great idea!!

    I just discovered your blog and I was up waaayyy to late last night reading all the information you put up LOL! Thanks!

    http://www.adventuresofabreastfeedingmother.com

Leave a Reply

