How do you make the mini books for your lapbooks?

September 10, 2008 at 9:25 am (Uncategorized)

Posted by setfree (66.45.66.30)

Hi, I am always so impressed with the things you do with your kids. We use Sonlight also. I have 2 using Sonlight K. I wanted to do a lapbook on trees because that is the next unit they are doing in science. I thought I would try to make it because I can’t find a free one and I can’t order one right now. I found some clip art but I don’t know how to add it to the minibooks. I found the minibook templates and I really want to do this. Do I need a special program on the computer? Would you mind sharing how you do this? Did I make sense at all?
Thanks so much!
Katie

Hi Katie,

It seems like lately we have been using mostly freebie lapbooks we have printed off the internet.  However, when we have made our own I am usually pretty low-tech about it.  The online one I have made on the computer is the Middle Ages one we did.  This one was done with a computer scrapbooking program I have.

Here is the link to that one.

http://homeschoolblogger.com/jaminacema/395479/

What I have normally done it just cut out the booklets and then glue any graphics I could find to the front of the booklets.

This Shakespeare one is an example of that:

In the middle on this one I sewed ziploc bags to card stock.  Then we cut pieces of paper to fit in the baggies.  On the sides we just made little simple booklets and added graphics or titles to the fronts.  Very simple!

On our Wordless Lapbooks we again just used folded paper to make the booklets. 

Here is my post about that:

http://homeschoolblogger.com/jaminacema/461526/

On our Dinosaur one we just did folded black paper and glued out graphics inside and out.

You can view that post here:

http://homeschoolblogger.com/jaminacema/392138/

On our Father’s Day one we found a bunch of free printables online and used those.

Here is the link for that one:

http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/jaminacema/341410/

So as you can see the low-tech options are out there!  I am a firm believer that Lapbooking doesn’t have to be hard or fancy.  Just use the materials and skills you and your children have.  The most important thing is to HAVE FUN learning together! 

If you click through all the lapbooks on my side bar (We have made 35 Lapbooks now!) you will see that we use a lot of very simple folds in the ones we have designed ourselves.  I would LOVE to learn how to make these on the computer.  But grabbing some scissors and marker is quick, and I am all about quick!  LOL

Hope this helps!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

P.S. The ones that Ami gives me credit for at homeschoolshare.com I only came up with the ideas for the booklets.  She is MUCH to kind by giving me credit.  She did all the work making the booklets.  I only wish I was that talented!

2 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    Just wanted to say that the Homeschool Minute newsletter came to my inbox this morning and I really loved your suggestions for sites with free unit studies! I am a new homeschool mom–just started kindergarten with my daughter this week–so I'm grateful for all the help I can get. Your lapbook ideas are great, too, and I plan to start making some asap!
    Thanks again!
    Lora
    http://myblessedlife-lora.blogspot.com

  2. setfree said,

    I am so embarrassed. I have been busy and have not been on your blog to check for responses. I finally got a chance and you not only responded you made me feel okay about making a lapbook that is not professioal quality. I get it now. It is about what they learn not about what it looks like. Sometimes I make things so hard. Thanks for being such an inspiration.
    Katie

Leave a Reply

