File Folder Games

September 15, 2008 at 11:03 am (Uncategorized)

I have been planning on making up some file folder games for months now.  I had them all the ones at the end of this post bookmarked to print and use.  But, somehow I never got around to it.  Last week I came across this book of file folder games at the teacher supply store.  It was on sale for $14.99 and included 20 pre-printed file folder games!  With my ink cartridges costing $20.00 each this sounded like a bargain!  So, I worked on putting together file folder games this weekend for my four year old.

What are File Folder Games?  They are color folders with all kinds of matching games inside. The are designed to be easy enough for little ones to work on independently. These are going to be a lifesaver during school time!  My 4 year old can work on these and while I work with my 7 year old. 

Here are all the ones I put together over the weekend. (I still have a few more Language Arts ones to finish.)The yellow folders are Language Arts ones and the red are Math and Logic.

Here are a few examples of the types of games they have in them.

This is a logic one.They have to find another dig that is doing the same thing as the one in the picture.

The little ziploc baggies are stapled on to hold the pieces.  The ziploc can be flipped up while you are playing the game.

This one is color matching.

This one he has to count the number of dots and then find the right numeral for each one.

This one is letter matching.

The great thing about these books is they have them all the way through 3rd grade.  I may have to make more of these next year when he outgrows these.

Selow are the FREE ones I haven’t gotten around to yet!  LOL  I really want to do these too.  Many of them are a little more advanced and would be great for my 7 year old while I work with my 4 year old.

Phonics:
http://www.geocities.com/phonicgames/

Adding and rhyming:
http://www.enchantedlearning.com/filefoldergames/

Simple addition, telling time, and counting money:
http://www.webeans.net/hutt/educ/catmouse.htm

Preschool: (There are 22 to choose from on the yellow side bar to the left.)
http://www.preschoolprintables.com/filefolder/butterfly/filefolderbutterfly.shtml


Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

10 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    I am SO glad you have a preschooler at the same time that I do! LOL
    So do you laminate stuff? I have to look into that. Seems like a good idea.
    Thanks for the latest ideas!!!

    Jamie

  2. jaminacema said,

    I forgot to mention it, but what I did was cover all the games pieces with clear contact paper. It took awhile, but it will protect them and keep them good a lot longer. I could have had them laminated, but I didn't want to run to the teacher supply store. Plus I had 3 rolls of clear contact on hand someone gave me. So it was free!

  3. Shelly said,

    Great idea, thanks for the head up!

    http://www.adventuresofabreastfeedingmother.com

  4. Anonymous said,

    This looks like soooo much fun! I am totally going to find one of those books! Thanks for the tip! I love your blog, once again it encourages me to try something new!
    A.L. Travis
    Author of The Pillar of Light: The Legends of Milana Series

  5. www.crazyhomeschoolmamma.blogspot.com said,

    I used to LOVE making these when I worked for a daycare many moons ago….I wonder if I could make them fo rmy older kids hee hee

  6. Juliestew said,

    ok, i'm going to hunt that thing. it looks great!!! thanks for sharing
    julie

  7. Anonymous said,

    This is EXACTLY what I needed for my 4 year old!! Thanks so much for sharing.

  8. Tricia said,

    I've been reading your blog for a couple months now but commenting for the first time. Great blog!

    How is your 4yo enjoying these? I have been thinking I'd make some for my 4yo but never gotten around to printing them off and compiling. So I am off tomorrow to look for a book like this!

    BTW, I recently noticed the links to GCM & AOLFF on your blog. I'm also on GCM!

  9. Anonymous said,

    I have several Y!Groups where I (and a few other members) post all the file folder games that we create. You can see a small sample of my over 100 games at my blog on the "Christian Printables" page. They're for all ages!!

    http://armyfamilyok.wordpress.com

  10. Anonymous said,

    I teach second grade and have been making tons of file folder games this summer! I came across an amazing website that I think you would enjoy. It has wonderful preschool games and lots of things for your 7 year old too!
    http://www.filefolderfun.com/FileFolderGames.html

    Check it out!

Leave a Reply

