Homeschooling My High Schooler

September 23, 2008 at 9:58 am (Uncategorized)

All these years I have homeschooled I have always been curious what it would be like to homeschool a High Schooler.  So even though we are only 3 weeks into High School I thought I would post about how it is going so far.

Here he is "in the classroom."  LOL
First let me tell you what my Freshman is doing for curriculum wise:

History/Language Arts – Sonlight 100 – In-Depth American History
Math – Teaching Textbook Algebra 1
Science – Apologia Exploring Creation with Biology on CD rom
Bible – A Bible Study of Biblical Feast and Holy Days – Self Directed
Government/Language Arts – America Government Lapbook
Speech/Governemnt – Speeches That Changed the World

Whew!

For extracurricular activities he is participating in:

Awana – Leader in Training
Church Youth Group
Homeschool Teen Group (Social and Service Projects)
Church  Drama Team

His "free" time he spends on the computer.  He continues to write the online comic that he has been doing for for over 3 years now! 

He also helps with housework, watches his brother and sister as needed and makes ME laugh every day!

He is a BUSY young man!

So, how has it been doing High School at home so far?  First off you have to understand that he has never been in school.  So this is "normal" for him.  For the most part he works completely on his own and only comes to me when he has questions.  (Which are usually answered with, I don’t know.  You should ask Dad tonight when he get’s home!  LOL)

The BIGGEST difference I can see is that High School is taking A LOT more time every day.  He starts about 10:00 a.m. (After breakfast and chores are done.) then finishes around 3:00 to 4:00 depending on the day.  So he is spending 5 to 6 hours a day doing school!  This has been hard for me because I have gotten use to doing things like running out to get the kids haircuts during school hours.  Before we could always easily make up the hours. Now, if we get off track it is very hard to get caught up!

The other interesting difference is that he is currently study 2 things I never have studied!  Biology and Algebra 1.  So, it is very weird to know that the kid I have homeschooled from the start has passed me up!  LOL  But, weird in a good way!

So just in case anyone was wondering, High School is going great!  I am so glad that I get to see him every day all throughout the day.  Even if I am not really working with him one on one anymore.  I am also glad he is here to be part of his brother and sisters education.  Nothing does my heart better than to see my 4 year old run to find his brother so he can show him the preschool project he is working on! I think the picture below is the best reason I can come up with for homeschooling my High Schooler!

Here they are taking a break from school work to have tickle time!  LOL

Oh, and my son had his first Biology test today and he got….an A!!!! YAY!!!!!!!!!!!

All men who have turned out worth anything have
had the chief hand in their own education.
Walter Scott (1771-1832)


Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

4 Comments

  1. Luke Holzmann said,

    Fantastic! May this year continue to be amazing.

    ~Luke

  2. Kim said,

    My son will be in high school next year. I just want to say thank you, you always know just what to talk about. Your so encouraging. My son is 13 and in 8th grade. I am proud of my son so far too. Looks like you are doing such a awesome job with your kids. Thank you again for all your encouraging words.

  3. Diane said,

    Your children are so special, as are you. Anytime I check in, and see/hear a story of your children I, myself, am terribly proud, I can only imagine how you must feel. Such little blessings.

  4. peachtreemom said,

    Wow!

    Your high schooler is doing a lot of the same things we are. We're doing Sonlight 100, Apologia Biology, and Teaching Textbooks Algebra 1 also.

    We're also doing Rosetta Stone Spanish and music lessons.

    Are you pleased with all your curriculum? I am so far.

    Great to hear it's going well for y'all.

    Charlotte

Leave a Reply

