My Preschooler – The Letter A

October 3, 2008 at 9:10 am (Uncategorized)

Well, I can’t believe it, but this is actually my last year of having a preschooler!  WOW!  I am a little sad, because I like working with my preschoolers so much! So we just have to enjoy this year for all it’s worth!

Here is what I am doing with our little man this year.

Just like I did with his older brother and sister I am focusing the his whole year of preschool around the alphabet.  You can read all about how I teach my preschoolers HERE

Starting today I will be teaching a weekly Preschool ABC Class.  What we do is meet once a week for 2 hours and have fun learning about a letter each week.   So for instance for the letter A we will do the following:

  • Craft – Apple Stamping
  • Letter – Gluing tiny apples (from a craft punch I have.) to the letter A.
  • Show and Tell – Each child will bring something to show that begins with the letter A. (Alligator, Apple, Astronaut. etc.)
  • Felt Board Stories – Mr. Alligator and The Apple Tree
  • Books – !0 Apples Up on Top & Berenstains’ A Book
  • Art – Baby Einstein The ABC’s of Art – A Angel (Lorenzo Lotto (1480-1556) Angel Annunciating.)
  • Bible Verse  All have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.
  • Snack – Apple Slices
  • Large Muscle Motion – Be Airplanes and play ABC Stomp.

We have 13 kids and their Mom’s signed up for this class.  So it should be FUN!

During the week he and I are working on the Free ABC Lap-n-Note from homeschoolshare.com.  He is LOVING this as you can see by the picture above of him with his notebook.  We are taking it slow.  We have done a couple of letters a week and then we read books and etc. the rest of the week. (We are up to the letter G right now.)  He is happy to get a little one on one attention and he loves about anything I do with him.  This is such a fun age because they are so eager to learn and they just soak up everything!

He is also doing lots of his file folder games and we make a couple items from the Wearables that teach E-Book.  Our homeschool group is in the process of making Preschool Activities in a Bag as a Co-op.  So we are excited to get our 20 new preschool projects when we swap bags on the 16th of Oct! 

That is pretty much it for my preschooler.  One thing that is fun about preschool is that even in a half hour a day you can get so much learning in!   We are very excited about the our Preschool ABC Class and I will let you know LOTS more about it as time passes.

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

3 Comments

  1. Dana M. said,

    Jamimacema- I just want to say you have been an inspiration to me. I am starting my third year of hs but still feel like such a newbie. Your energy and ideas are motivating. In fact, you've inspired me to start my own blog; oursunnyside.blogspot.com
    Keep jamin!

  2. Anonymous said,

    I just want to thank you!
    You inspired me to learn more about lapbooks this past summer–my preschooler and I have done a Transportation and a Space lapbook now.

    And now you have inspired me with the preschooling! I have a 12-year old and a 10-year old–as well as a 3-year old and 5-month old. I've been feeling all dried up when it comes to preschool lately–even though this is the age that I love. I don't feel like I'm doing the fun things that I once did when the older ones were preschoolers.

    Thank you! You have encouraged me!

    Check out my 3-year old's lapbook!
    http://www.strivingforsimplicity.blogspot.com

    Thanks again!
    Jodi

  3. ERIKA said,

    Jamin,
    Thanks so much for putting this class together. We have had a great time! I took some pics, and I will try to post a few of them on my blog sometime this week!
    I am so glad we were able to work this out!

    http://akiresparkle.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

