Pet Rocks

October 21, 2008 at 9:14 am (Uncategorized)

I was 10 years old in 1975 when the pet rock fad was at it’s height, so it is no surprise I owned one!  Don’t worry my parents were not insane enough actually pay $3.95 for a rock for their daughter to play with.  I was just resourceful and found a nice rock to carry around in my pocket.  LOL  One weekend a friend from school asked if she could take my rock home for the weekend.  I let her and when he returned her mom had spiffied him up by painting on eyes and his name, Herbert. (Don’t ask me why I called Herbert.  If there was a reason I can’t remember it now.) While it is not surprising that I had a pet rock, it is kinda weird that I STILL have it!  Somehow even with moving at least a dozen times since then, Herbert has been with me all this time. 

My kids are fasicinated with my pet rock.  So finally the other day they both adopted rocks and we decorated them.

Here they all are!  The one with the red writing on the back is Herbert.  The one with one eye is my 4 year olds and the one with the lace skirt is obviously my 7 year old daughters! 

There probably isn’t too much educational value to making these.  But, we had fun!  Eventually when I find my felt I will let them make houses for their rocks with beds and pillows and etc.  I remember doing that too and it was SO much fun!

I wonder if my kids will still have their pet rocks when they are 43?  LOL

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

7 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    I am CRACKING UP here!! The lace "skirt" on that rock is just too funny.
    I had one of those, also the homemade version, as well as a kleenex ghost named Gus! LOL
    They lived in the headboard of my bed, had their own furniture and all. I believe they were roommates for a while until Gus died a horrible death (shredded to bits). LOL

    Jamie

  2. HopeRumpca said,

    Jamin,

    I too had a pet rock only mine was covered in gray fake fur! One year when I was about 7 (1978) I made pet rocks for everyone in my very large, extended family, for Christmas! They were covered in fur, had eyes and tongues and Lord Bless my sweet family, everyone just exclaimed over their rocks and told me they were the neatest thing! It still makes me smile 30 years later to remember.
    Thank you for a delightful stroll down memory lane!
    ~Hope

  3. flowersteach said,

    Aren't pet rocks great! No upkeep! Will you post pictures of their homes when you do them? I am thinking about getting a pet rock for our daughter and I think having a house would be really cool.

    Theresa

  4. Anonymous said,

    I LoOoOVe this idea! My kids are SOoOoo into rocks and rock hounding and mining and identification of rocks…I think they would enjoy making PET ROCKS! (I was 3-4 years old when Pet Rocks were at their PEAK, so I missed out.) Now…off it get some googly-eyes and LACE. LOL

    Jessy
    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/Jessy

  5. sydsma said,

    We use My Father's World as our main curriculum and when we studied Jesus is the Rock – making pet rocks was one of the activities. So see – there IS some educational value to pet rocks 🙂

  6. Shannon said,

    Hi Jamin!
    I don't get to comment much, but I just wanted to let you know I nominated you over at the Homeschool Blog Wards for Best Crafts, Plans, and Projects.
    You have always been so generous with your wonderful, fun ideas. You were one of the first blogs I started reading as a new homeschooler 3 years ago.
    Thanks for your willingness to share!
    Blessings,
    Shannon @ Song of my Heart
    http://songofmyheart.blogspot.com/

  7. PrairieMoo said,

    I loved your pet rocks! I remember the pet rock "fad" – even though I was only 1 in 1975! My mom had a rock with a face on it and her name and I remember spending time just holding it and wanting to keep it for my own.
    You just brought back memories for me with your blog! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

