CullensABC.com

November 6, 2008 at 9:55 am (Uncategorized)

I was looking for ideas for a felt board story for the letter E yesterday when I came across this AMAZING preschool website!  It’s called cullensabc.com.  What we found were literally hundreds of videos made by Cullen doing felt board stories, telling stories & singing songs.  It’s like a preschool class on a website!

My four year old and I spent over 2 hours yesterday watching the videos.  He LOVED it!  It was kind of fun for me too to sit back and get to enjoy the stories and songs with him instead of being the ones leading them.  My 7 year old daughter joined us when we were about ready to sign off and she loved the videos too!

Of all the ones we watched I think my 4 year olds favorite was the Dinosaur Hokey Pokey!  So I will post that one here.

If you are reading this via email you can view the video here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WDd89tX7M1s

This was my favorite of the videos.  I LOVE this one because we have this very same felt set and it is hands down my kids favorite felt story.  (My oldest loves to do this one for the littles!)

If you are reading this via email you can view the video here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8-1DgoK-iMs

I cannot say enough good things about this site!  I really liked the series of videos she has on the Resurrection Eggs and look forward to counting down to Resurrection Day with my kids using her videos!

I know this is a site we will return to over and over and over!

The only caution I want to give you is that the videos are all hosted on YouTube. As long as I clicked to the videos from her site I didn’t get any objectionable advertising.  BUT, if I clicked to view a second video once I had been transferred to YouTube, there was a lot of yucky advertising on the sidebar.  So, I wouldn’t let my kids click around and watch the videos alone.  Other than that, this site is a WINNER!

Oh, and I never did find an idea for a felt story for the letter E.  So if you have an idea let me know ASAP.  I need it Friday!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

8 Comments

  1. thewoons said,

    Check out my free e-book giveaway at http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/hstv/615379

    Thanks so much!
    Charity Woon
    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/hstv

  2. abundantlyblessedtoo said,

    I scoured the internet, while listening to some of our "Great Old Time Holiday Stories for the Family" today, to see if I could find something for you. This was all I was able to find in the short time I had available.

    Esther Saves Her People
    http://chocolateonmycranium.blogspot.com/2007/12/esther-saves-her-people.html

    Enoch Builds Zion
    http://chocolateonmycranium.blogspot.com/2008/01/enoch-builds-zion.html

    Those were the only two I could find with graphics and all. But I did find a page that has some letter E stories, poems, and rhymes suggestions. Maybe you could find some pics to go with one or more of them.
    http://www.letteroftheweek.com/letterE.html

    I just wanted to try to be helpful to you, as you are such a help to the homeschool community. My children are all older (youngest is 11yo now) so I don't use your youngest tips but pass them along to my sister who has a 3yo and 6mo.

    Blessings,
    Michele ºÜº

  3. wwcherylww said,

    My 5-yr-old, Sammy, LOVED those! He use to be terrified of the Old Lady Who Swallowed the Fly. That video hleped him to not be so afraid.

    The Dinosaur Hokey Pokey was a lot of fun!

  4. Anonymous said,

    Hey J. The only idea I had for "E" was to do something with Horton (E for elephant) Hatches an Egg (E for egg).
    Now, to do a felt story with that, hm I don't know. I'll be back if I have a burst of inspiration. 🙂 Let us know what you come up with!

    Jamie

  5. Anonymous said,

    Ya know, I guess the Horton story might be better for "H"? Oh well.
    A little song could be the Sesame Street song I used to love as a kid and they still do it: "Everybody Eats" Such a sweet little song and it would be easy to make felt foods for a character to eat.
    …still thinking….

  6. Momrod said,

    I got it I got it!!!!
    "Five little Earwigs…."

    There. How's that? hehehe

    Jamie

  7. Anonymous said,

    My son LOVES CullensABCs also what we did was bookmark her actual site or maybe it is her playlist? Somehow we got to them without having to go through youtube other than the viewer. I am the one giving her the Story Time Felts sets to use and she has done such a great job with them!

    For your E story how about Itsy Bitsy but calling it Eensie Weensie Spider?? Or the Little ENGINE that Could? Or the Emporer's New Clothes? Or Enoch? Or the Resurrection story but call it the Easter story! OK That's all I got!! LOL Have fun!
    Karen Clark
    http://www.FunFelt.com

  8. Anonymous said,

    Jamin,
    I really appreciate you sharing this! My 9 month old grand baby and I watched a couple of her videos yesterday and LOVED them. It inspired me to dig out my felt box. So much fun!

    Thanks again!
    Sheri
    10MinuteGame.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

