Gingerbread Doll Apron

December 9, 2008 at 7:25 am (Uncategorized)

I am working on making these Gingerbread Doll Aprons as Christmas gifts for the sweet girls in our American Girl Club.  (Shhhh…it’s a secret!  LOL)


The body of the apron is cut from one 25 cent sheet of tan felt.  The heart is also cut from felt.  I hand stitched the white rick-rack along the bottom.  The heart is attached with green embroidery thread (3 strands).I used a blanket stitch all the way around the heart to add some interest.  The eyes are black buttons and the mouth is embroidered on with red embroidery thread (3 strands).  I hand stitched on the red straps and the bow for her head.

Voila!
I think she is adorable.  My daughter is WILD about the apron and can hardly wait to hand them out to all her friends at American Girl Club!  We still have a dozen or so to make, but I thought I would pass the idea along in case anyone else wants to make them as gifts. These ended up costing us about $2.00 each to make.

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

6 Comments

  1. Mackenzie said,

    That is adorable!! I'm not coordinated enough to make it though. LOL

  2. Anonymous said,

    those are cute! what a great idea!
    A.L. Travis
    http://www.miannacabana.blogspot.com

  3. JnJAF99 said,

    Jamin, That is so cute! I will have to make one for my DD. On another topic, I am trying to get my blog RSS set up through feedburner, but can't find the HTML code for it. How did you do yours?
    Thanks!
    AF Wife

  4. Anonymous said,

    Jamin,
    This little apron is sooo easy to make. I "cheated" and used my sewing machine, but this could EASILY be done by hand–even with no skill or creativity. (And I admire you for making so many of them–by hand–for all the girls in the club!)

    If you would like to see a picture of mine, email me at sherph66 [at] gmail [dot] com
    🙂
    Sheri
    PS–I really enjoy your blog–keep up the good work!

  5. butler1939@hotmail.com said,

    Not only am I going to make the apron for my DD's Just Like Me doll, but she is getting Samantha & Nellie for Christmas. I think this would be the perfect thing for her to open and wonder why she has 3 of them.

    Also, she & I are going to be starting a study on the American girl books, all because of you!

    Thanks

    Kim

  6. Anonymous said,

    I love the gingerbread apron! It is too cute and will make super gifts.

Leave a Reply

