5 Years Old!

December 12, 2008 at 8:50 am (Uncategorized)

My baby is turning 5 on Monday!  WOW!!!!  There is something about turning 5 that always seems like a BIG deal to me.  It is certainly the moment that I have to admit the baby days are over!  This being my youngest I am a little melancholy  about that!  On the other hand 5 is about my favorite age.  I love the way 5 year olds think and how they suddenly have a whole new level of understanding about things. They also remain a little bit naive and innocent.  Such sweet times!  So like with so many other times in my parenting career I am happy and a bit sad at the same time.  I just wish I could slow time down and make it all last a little longer…

Since our little man’s birthday is in December and it’s not a great time to get people to come to a party we decided to just do a family celebration this year.  We will be spending the weekend celebrating including hanging out at a local hotel that has indoor water play.  We are all looking forward to it, it feels a little like vacation even though it’s right here in town!  So, I won’t be posting again until Tuesday when our little break is over.   

I will leave you with my little man’s 5 year picture we had taken a few weeks ago.  This is SO him! 

He LOVES to dress up.  He always has, even when he was a baby.  We use to joke that he was going to grow up to be a Big and Tall Male Model.  (Since he weighed 11.8 when he was born!  LOL)  So when he saw this outfit he BEGGED me to get it for him because it has a tie like daddy wears.  The funny thing is that daddy rarely ever wears a tie. But, in my little man’s head daddy wears one every day!  LOL 

Here are some other of my favorite pics of my little man with his accessories!  LOL  He is SO CUTE!

Here he is on Leaf Day with his necktie clipped to his t-shirt and his skeleton gloves. 
The clasp for the tie broke the day this picture was taken and he has been begging for a new one ever since.  LOL He can hardly wait for Christmas to be over because I told him after he wears his new outfit to church for Christmas he can have the tie to wear.  Such a silly boy!

This is him when he was 2 and went through his "wearing dress shoes to bed" period.  He LOVED his dress shoes and would cry and cry asking to wear them over his footie PJ’s.  I really didn’t care that much, as long as he stayed in his own bed and didn’t come get in bed with me and start kicking me!  LOL  (Which he did nearly every night, then we would pull them off.)

Here he is at 2 in his sister pink sunglasses!  LOL
The boy is very secure in his masculinity! 

And of course every boy needs a cape!

Or two!
And of course if you don’t have anything else to make a costume with you can always make one with marker!  LOL

And if you don’t have a marker handy there is always T.P.!

And of course who can resist being Darth Vadar on occasion?

The whole dress up thing may be my fault.  I did start it when he was only 5 days old…

I’ll see you all next week!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

P.S.  If you read today’s Freebie Friday you probably know that I have resigned as the TOS Freebie Finder.  I had a wonderful year bringing freebie to everyone via Freebie Friday, but have decided that my schedule needs to be scaled back.  So from now on if you want to know what great freebies we are using at our house you will have to read my blog!  :^)

15 Comments

  1. tlpgina said,

    Will miss you on Freebie fridays but I totally understand. I just blogged about a similar thought… Have fun blessing your family.
    Gina

  2. Joyfulmusic90 said,

    Dear Jamin',

    Your family pictures look so sweet! — I just wanted to say thank you for all your work as Freebie Finder! I know you must have taken much time to search out freebies for the homeschool community, and we are all grateful. I will miss seeing your Friday newsletters, but I totally understand. I wish you alot of fun with your family. Homeschooling is awesome, isn't it?

    Sincerely,
    Pamela
    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/joyfulmusic/

  3. Robinlyn said,

    Thanks for all the hard work that you put into the freebie Friday. It has been fun getting to know you and your family through your blog, too.
    I like the reason that you take pictures of your food. 😉
    Have a great birthday weekend!

  4. myersgj@yahoo.com said,

    Jamin, What a sweet baby five-year-old. Just wanted to say congrats on him and also on your tenure as Freebie Finder. I will miss you in that role. I wish you well and think that scaling back is always admirable. But I did want you to know you will be missed. I enjoyed your suggestions and have USED them!!!! Merry Christmas!–Ginger

  5. Anonymous said,

    Thank you so much for blessing all of us with your wisdom & of course freebies! In these times I can't tell you how much for Friday Email meant to us!Blessings to you & your family for the sacrifices that were made for all of us who benefited!
    Merry Christmas!

    Marianne & her boys
    http://HandlirsHope.blogspot.com

  6. Lizzie said,

    Happy Birthday to him!
    Yes, 5 is a big deal.
    Love the picts of him in his tie;)

    Lizzie
    http://www.adustyframe.com

  7. Anonymous said,

    Jamin,
    I have truly enjoyed your posts for the homeschool minute. I always read it immediately… you will be missed, and thanks for your hard work for us!
    Jan

  8. 5atkins said,

    Just wanted to add my thanks for so many wonderful free resources this past year! You really blessed us!

    Enjoy 2009! Merry Christmas and blessings to you!
    Eva Atkins

  9. Quinne said,

    Hi Jamin 🙂 I read about your decision on Freebie Fridays and wanted to tell you how much I appreciate the things you have shared this year. May this next year be a most blessed time in the life of your family. Happy Christmas to you, Q

  10. Anonymous said,

    Oh me oh my! He is so like my little guy! I really enjoy your blog! Thank you for sharing your widom and life!

  11. momanna98 said,

    Thanks for all the hard work you did this past year bringing us Freebie Friday's. I appreciate it!

  12. tiredmom said,

    I think that is also one of my very favorite ages! My baby is 14 now, so it's been a looong time since I had such a creature in my house. I taught the five year old Sunday School class for several years and thoroughly enjoyed doing that, however.

    Happy Birthday!

  13. SchoolinMama said,

    And when my middle daughter was two and wanted to wear her Dora shoes to bed I thought she was weird…I mean so special 😉

    I might not ever have found your blog if you hadn't been the Freebie Finder, so I'm glad you did it, and I understand why a year is enough!

    Be blessed,
    Danielle

  14. LivPurple said,

    I'm sure going to miss you for Freebie Fridays. How will we manage without you? Thank you for you many contributions to my collection of freebies!!!

  15. Anonymous said,

    Thank you for your service writing Freebie Fridays! You'll be missed 😀

    On another note, I'm glad to know that my 5 year old is not alone in his propensity for wearing "unusual" clothing items. His isn't dressy clothes, but it is usually other items like helmets, certain colored pjs (because he's being a certain race car driver), etc. That's the great thing about having them at home! You can allow that creativity to just shine through!!!

Leave a Reply

