Oh Little Town of Bethlehem

December 17, 2008 at 7:28 am (Uncategorized)

Since we moved to a new State earlier this year we are making new Christmas traditions this year.  Last month I sent an email to our homeschool group asking everyone to share their favorite local Christmas traditions with me.  Several people recommended a neat Walk Through Bethlehem night that is put on by a church about 45 minutes from where we live.  We went this weekend and WOW, what an awesome experience it was!  Here 30 or so of my favorite pictures from our walk through Bethlehem…

My little man had a word with a Roman Soldier as we entered the gates of the city.

My two youngest are making olive oil.

The Weavers

My 2 little ones are learning about dyes used by the weavers.

The Temple

Food Market

Camels passing by…

My 14 year old is dying to know where a church gets camels?  LOL

Here the kids are learning about herbs, roots and extracts of the time.  These are myrrh and frankincense.

This lady was teaching about how to make fishing net from hemp twine.

Stone Carvers

The Tanner

These girls are stomping grapes to make wine.

These ladies are making bread.

Bread Oven

This lady is showing the types of flour used for the bread.

The Potter

This cute little girl with her chicken was at the basket weaver’s house.

The Basket Weaver

Pretending to draw water from the well.

Minting mites

A sweet little boy sharing his chicken with a new friend.  :^)

This is Joseph asking for a room in the Inn.  The Inn Keeper turns him away, but then the Inn Keepers wife thinks of the stable…

Here is the star!

And baby Jesus!

This was at the very end.  The man is asking all the children if they saw the King that was born that night?  He asks them if they believe He is the Son of God? Then he tells them to tell others that the King was born in Bethlehem this night. 



This was such a neat experience!  We all just loved it.  I had never really thought about all the jobs that people would have been doing that night in Bethlehem.  The fact that it was busy and crowded only made it more realistic!  I think that going to this made each of us think a little more about what life would have been like back then.  I know this is something we will look forward to every year from now on!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

7 Comments

  1. tn3jcarter said,

    We went on a similar walk through Bethlehem on Sunday, but I didn't even take my camera! Now, I wish that I did. It would have been great to talk more about it later on.

  2. Eva said,

    Thank you for sharing these photos. My son and I really enjoyed watching them. Wish we could have been there too, what a great work they've made to show how Bethlehem must have looked like. Have a blessed day!

  3. Anonymous said,

    I would have loved that and so would my little boys! I wish there was one of those near here! Thank you so much for sharing!
    Valerie

  4. Anonymous said,

    My daughter was excited to see that you went to see this, she went last weekend with a friend. She thinks it is neat that someone we read about online isnt on the other side of the world. lol

    I was hoping to make it out with our family, but since it was only two weekends we just couldnt coordinate our schedule.

    Merry Christmas!

  5. J-Mom said,

    Looks like you had an amazing time and I'm still in awe of everything they put together, very cool!

    http://j-keep.blogspot.com

  6. Anonymous said,

    This looks awesome! I'd love to file the idea away for future reference. Which church hosted this terrific event?
    Maree

  7. HomeschoolMaven said,

    We there that night, too! It was just awesome!Edited by jaminacema on Dec. 30, 2008 at 1:03 PM

Leave a Reply

