Ice Storm – Nature Walk

January 6, 2009 at 6:19 am (Uncategorized)

We had an ice storm yesterday.  Being from the West Coast this is a completely foreign concept to my kids.  So when the freezing rain had stopped falling we went out on a nature walk.  It was SO beautiful!  Seeing ice on everything really made us stop and take a deeper, longer look at the trees, leaves and branches we see around us every day. 

I am amazed how many green leaves there still are this late in the winter.

The kids really liked the bare trees.  It made them look like a skeleton!

Notice my little man has on one boot and one Croc.  He is quite the dresser! (I think he even has his right Croc on his left foot!) LOL

This was my favorite of the pictures I took.  I am pretty sure all the neighbors think we are crazy out walking and taking pictures on such a cold wet day. :^)

My daughter showing off her new adorable rain boots! Cute, huh?  (Before anyone asks, I got them at Target.)

This tree was so pretty.  It doesn’t show very well in the picture, but the whole thing is covered in ice.

I really like the trees that still have green leaves on them.  I wonder if they will fall off now that it’s SO cold?

Okay, so that was fun. However, tomorrow we are ready for all the ice to be gone!  LOL

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

2 Comments

  1. kaenhu said,

    It iced there? Wow! We just got a lot of wet cold here! This is such a common thing in this part of the woods. LOL

  2. Anonymous said,

    Looks like great fun! The leaves look like mountain laurel, or magnolia. Mine stay green all year. Even in the freezing winter. I'm in the NC mountains. We did a lot of things with ours this year, seeds etc. Teachable stuff.
    Valerie

Leave a Reply

