Natural Learning – Example

January 12, 2009 at 10:33 am (Uncategorized)

I am always talking about how kids are natural learners and if you give them the time and a rich learning environment they will naturally learn the things they need to know.  A lot of times people will as me for an example of this and I now have a great new one!

Over the weekend we were in the car and my daughter (7) said out of the blue "Mom, I know your cell phone number!"  And then she rattled it off area code and all!  I said "Cool, did daddy teach you that?"  She replied "No. it’s on the dogs collar and I memorized it from there."  WOW, how awesome is that?  Not once did she ever mention that she wanted to know my cell phone number!  It has never been a issue for her to learn it because she is always with me, so I never taught it to her.  (I have thought a few times that she should know it in case she ever got lost, but I had never actually gotten around to teaching it to her.) Low and behold she found a way to learn it anyway! 

I am telling you kids are little learning sponges!

LOL

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

1 Comment

  1. TomySky said,

    That is good stuff! Great example [smile].

    ~Luke

Leave a Reply

