Hermit Crabs

January 28, 2009 at 9:07 pm (Uncategorized)

My 2 littles saved up their money and got hermit crabs over the weekend.  It was interesting timing because one of our cats died during the night Friday.  We are not sure what happened.  He was outside before we went to bed and when he came in he was hunched down and walking funny.  The next morning he was dead.  I wouldn’t have probably gotten the hermit crabs the same day we lost out cat, but since we were already planning on getting them that day we went ahead.  I do think it was helpful for the kids to have something to cheer them up.  They were all very sad about losing the cat. 

The kids are enjoying the hermit crabs.  They of course are not as fast paced and cuddly as a cat, but they are interesting none the less.  My 8 year old also got a book on the care and feeding of the hermit crabs.  So she is learning all about them and becoming the family authority on them.  One thing I like is that they are scavengers.  So we can feed them about anything.  They really seem to like olive bread!  If we put a piece in with them one of them will crawl on top of it and eat it.  Otherwise they hide out in their house most of the time.  We take the house out of the aquarium a couple times a day so we can watch them.  My daughters is very shy.  He will come out of his shell, but if he sees one of us he jumps back in.  As long as we are viewing him from behind he’s okay with us. LOL

Here is the outside of the shells.
My daughter chose one painted as Tigger and my son chose one painted as Batman.

Here you can see their claws all folded up inside the shells.
Unfortunately they wouldn’t pose for a picture out of their shell. :^) My sons is the bigger of the 2.  He is HUGE when he comes out of his shell.

Here is my daughter  checking out her hermit crab.

And her brother showing off his.

I think these are going to be a good lesson in patience for the kids.  They really like them, but they can’t play with them like they can the cats and the dog.  I keep reminding them that these are more like fish.  You just have to watch and enjoy them, but they can’t really cuddly with you!  LOL

Now we are going to have to do a study on Hermit Crabs.  Here are a couple good free resources I found online:

A House For Hermit Crab Free Unit Study and Lapbook

A House For Hermit Crab  By Eric Carle Lesson Plans

All About Hermit Crabs pdf

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

4 Comments

  1. courtneylane said,

    Olive bread? Who knew? LOL! Thanks for all the great info on your blog.
    Blessings!
    Courtney

  2. Mureiko said,

    Thank heavens you're back, Jamin! It hasn't been the same without you! Thank you for all the wonderful freebie finds.

    Is it okay for me to post about your finds sometimes on my blog? I am forever worried about infringing on everyone's copywrite. I have people who look at my blog who don't homeschool, but know someone else who does or they are missionaries, grandchildren, etc. Just let me know.

    robin.mureiko@gmail.com

  3. Anonymous said,

    YAHOO!!!!! I scared my kids this morning when I opened up my email from TOS freebie friday and saw that you were back! Yes, I have missed you and you came back with everything we needed! We found a hermit crab at the beach and tried to take care of it as best we could, unfortunatly he passed on to Hermie heaven. I have been searching for a study to share with them about the hermits. THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH! I AM SO HAPPY TO HAVE YOU BACK!! šŸ™‚

  4. Anonymous said,

    There is a delightful book about the life cycle of hermit crabs called Pagoo by Holling C. Holling. I think you and your children would really enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

