American Girl Tea Party

February 4, 2009 at 8:32 pm (Uncategorized)

After postponing for 2 weeks due to weather and schedule conflicts we finally had our American Girl Tea Party last night!  It was SO fun!

We had a full house with 23 girls and mom’s total. My house was wall to wall people, but it was well worth it! 

Here is a picture of my daughter ready for the party to start at one of the tea tables.
This one is set with all her little girl tea china.  She has service for 8 which she got for her birthday a few years ago.

Here are my 2 littles before the guests arrived.  Notice my little man put on a tie for the occasion!  LOL
This table was set with my tea set and plates that were my mother-in-laws.

Here is the only picture I got of the actual tea party.  I honestly thought I took more, but it was pretty busy and hectic and this was I all I had on my camera when it was over.
Such wonderful girls!  I wish I had pictures of them all.

Since the tea party was at dinner time we also had appetizers.  One of the things we made was Bacon Wrapped Figs.  Okay, I know it sounds weird…But, my husband went to a retirement party and Bacon Wrapped Figs were served.  Everyone raved about them and my husband liked them so much that he asked for the recipe.  We have made these several times since and we all LOVE them!  Oh, and as a added bonus they are super easy to make!

Bacon Wrapped Figs

Soak dried figs in water for approx 1 hour

Cook 1/2 slice of bacon per fig until it is half cooked.  (We do ours in the microwave for 1/2 minute per slice. )

Drain the figs and then wrap them in the half cooked bacon.  Secure them with a toothpick.  Place them on a cookie sheet covered with parchment paper.

Brush on your favorite BBQ sauce.  (We use Annie’s Natural Organic BBQ Smoky Maple)

Bake at 400 degrees for 10 minutes or until bacon is cooked through.

YUM!!!  I am telling you these things are addictive!  The only figs we had ever eaten where Fig Newtons until we started making these and now we are all fig lovers!  LOL  (These go great with hummus, feta and pita!)

So now we have completed our study of Samantha.  Next week we start Kaya.  I can hardly wait! 

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

Leave a Reply

