M is for Mailbox

February 6, 2009 at 9:35 am (Uncategorized)

This week for preschool class we are on the letter M.  I thought it would be fun for the kids to make mailboxes.  I looked online for an easy pattern but I wasn’t able to find one I liked, so I came up with my own.


Here are the directions:

  • Cut 2 rectangles of Fun Foam.  You could make it any size, the rectangle for the bottom just needs to be 1/2 the size of the rectangle for the top.
  • Punch holes on the short ends of the biggest rectangle.  Match those up with the long sides of the smaller rectangle and mark where to punch the matching holes with a pencil.  Then punch the holes on the 2nd piece of foam. 
  • Sew the top to the bottom on both sides using a pipes cleaner (Or chenille stem, whatever they call them these days!  LOL) 
  • Cut a flag out of another piece of fun foam and attached it to the side with a brad. 
  • Decorate it as you wish!  I used some left over fun foam stickers we had on hand.

I thought these might make fun valentines "in" boxes!  We might have to make some red and pink ones to swap family valentines!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

2 Comments

  1. melinda http://www.mamabearscubhouse.com said,

    wow! the mailbox seems complicated and simple at once..is that possible? great job!
    i'm gonna give it try. thank you šŸ™‚

  2. Anonymous said,

    I just love these. I made cardboard ones a few years ago but it was all me not the kids doing it. I always find fun things to do here. Thanks!
    Venus in MA

Leave a Reply

