Kaya – Native American Names and Name Tags

February 10, 2009 at 9:45 am (Uncategorized)

One of the things we will be doing at our Kaya American Girls Club is giving each girl a new Native American name to use at club.  I got  the names we are using from this website:

http://www.perfect-baby-names.com/native-american-name-list.html

Since I want the girls to actually use the names at club I thought it would be a good idea for them each to have a name tag with their new name.  (So I can remember them!  LOL)  So here are the name tags I made.

I wanted them to be durable enough to be worn for the full 6 weeks we are study Kaya so I made them out of fun foam.  I sketched a feather on paper and then I traced it on the fun foam.  I punched a hole to place the ribbon through and tied on some beads and put a pin on the back.  For the names I wrote the name in uppercase letters, then after it I put the meaning in lowercase. 

At the beginning of club tonight each of the mom’s will get to pick a Native American name for their daughter.  Then when we pass out the name tags the mom’s will get to tell why they chose that name for their daughter. (I made 20 and there are 14 girls in the club so hopefully all the mom’s will find one they like for their daughter.) I think is should be fun!

These are the ones I chose for myself and my daughter:
For my daughter I chose Lakota – friend to all because it is SO fitting for her!  She is such a friendly girl!  She takes it as her personal responsibility to make sure all the girls feel included and are having a great time.  For me I chose Minda – knowledge, which I hope is an  appropriate name for the teacher!  LOL  I look forward to seeing which names the other mom’s choose and why.  I know having to remember a new name for each of the girls is going to drive me nuts, but I think it will add a lot to the class and in the long run it will be worth it.

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

1 Comment

  1. Anonymous said,

    Those are cute. I have more name tag ideas freely available at http://www.nametag.me where you can edit or draw nametags before printing.
    Mark Kolb

Leave a Reply

