Valentine Lesson

February 12, 2009 at 9:31 am (Uncategorized)

I learned something about my youngest son yesterday while we were preparing for our homeschool group valentine party today.  He is not a carbon copy of his older brother!  Now anyone who knows my 2 boys is saying "duh" right now because they are about as different as night and day.  But, you know what?  I think as a teacher to my boys I have kind of fallen into a trap of thinking that boys learn one way and girls learn another.  You see my oldest HATED/HATES handwriting.  Watching the boy hold a pencil is painful.  I guess I have just always assumed that my youngest son too would hate writing.  (Even though he fills in workbooks like a champ and has never once complained about making his letters or numbers.)

So yesterday my 2 littles each had 30 valentine’s they needed to sign for todays valentine party.  I knew my daughter would love it because she LOVES handwriting!  So I sit down and get her started on hers and then I start pulling apart the cards for my son getting ready to sign them for him.  (Like I did year after year for my older son because he had no interest in signing a card on his own. If he had already done his handwriting pages for the day I knew that was all I was getting out of him!)  My 5 year old sits down, sees what his sister is doing and starts signing his own cards!  YAY!!! You know what?  Not only did he sign 15 of his 30 valentines, but he decided he wanted to sign both his real name and his new Native American name (He insisted I give him one when we were making name tags for our American Girl Club!  LOL)  I am sure a lot of the kids will be wondering who in the world Koko is!  hehehe

This just goes to remind me that each of my kids will learn in their own way at their own pace.   My youngest is not going to do everything exactly like his brother did just because he’s a boy!  He is his own person for sure. What a privilege it is that I get to be with him every day and let him teach me how to be the teacher he needs!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

Leave a Reply

