Plans?

February 24, 2009 at 8:04 am (Uncategorized)

Now that we have a teenager in the house it seems that we now spend a lot more time thinking and talking about preparing for "the future".  As a parent I want to know that my children are ready to face the world when the time comes.  Now that my oldest is 14 1/2 it seems painfully obvious that the future is NOT that far away. 

Much of our current preparing for the future is making sure he knows the practical things he will need.  Suddenly everything is a lesson!  Need a new car battery?  Make sure you are showing him how to do it!  Leaky sink, broken washing machine, car repairs…you get the idea.

Last weekend I watched the movie Dan in Real Life.  I have mentioned before that I really like to watch movies that I know nothing about, and this was one that fell into that category.  What a treat!  I have to tell you I really enjoyed this movie!  It was sweet and smart with strong family values.  But, I digress…at the end of the movie the main character said something that really got me thinking.  (I don’t think this will give anything away about the movie BTW.)  He says something about how we all ask our kids about what their plans are.  We press our children to make plans.  But the truth of the matter is what we plan for rarely ever really happens!  What we really need to do is "plan for the unexpected!"

WOW!  Truer words have never been spoken!  I have been thinking so much about this ever since I watched that movie.  What were my "plans" when I was 18 years old?  Have any of them panned out the way I thought they would?  As my teenager would say "Short answer, no.  Long answer noooooooooooooooooooo!"  LOL  Most of who I am has been formed by things I never planned!  I never planned to lose my first child in the 5th month of pregnancy, I never planned to take 15 years to have my 3 children.  I never planned to live in 4 States by the time I was 44!  I never planned for job losses and houses that would not sell.  I never planned to live in Las Vegas!  (That is for sure!  LOL) Yet all of these things have happened in spite of my plans!  (And believe me the list could go on and on.)

As I think of the list of things that have happened in my life that I never planned, those are the same things that have formed me into the person I have grown to be.  You see I would have "planned" things to be much more simple and easy!  I would not have planned for struggles, pain and heartbreak.  If I would have had things "my way" I would be a simple shallow person who had never experienced much of anything! But God had another plan! I know for sure that the unplanned events in my life are what have made me search my soul and lean on the Lord.  The things I did not plan made me grow up, be strong and learn that I can have joy even when things don’t go as planned.  But more importantly through all of life’s unplanned events I have learned something much more important…nothing that has happened in my life has been a surprise to God! WOW, He knows all the plans He had from me even when I am doing my best to go in another direction.  He knew that waiting 15 years to complete my family would make me a more patient compassionate person.  He knew that the struggles and heartbreak I have been through would make me lean on Him and trust Him more and more!  What a comfort it is to truly know that God is in control!

"For I know the plans I have for you," declares the Lord, "plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. " Jeremiah 29:11

I am sure I will not stop pushing my teenager to plan for the future now that I have had this revelation.  But, I also know that I am going to make sure to tell my kids to put their plans second.  Yep, in this day and age of "me first" I want my kids to know that they need to be more concerned about God’s plans than their own.  There will be many, many things in their lives that they cannot plan for.  But, they can plan to trust  God always!  Because planning on trusting and obeying God is always the best plan of all!

On this same thought have you seen the I Am Second Billboards?  The website is well worth taking a look at!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

3 Comments

  1. Angelheart said,

    Thanks for the reminder of that. I am going through the same thing with my daughter. Except at this point she is 16 going on 17. Next year she is taking a few college courses. She is hesitant about going to college.. Just in general. She wants to be done school but wants to be a teacher. I worry about how no going will affect her future but the reminder to let it all in Gods hands was wonderful. All that talking and trying to handle it on our own. I dont know why I forgot to give it to God. Thank you.

    Nikki

  2. fampedersen said,

    I just went through the very same thoughts this week end because one of my teenagers is applying for an art school for next year and i was able to help him through because I went through periods in my life which seemed at the time like a nightmare but proved today to be very helpful God definitely knows what he is doing with all our circumstances Let us praise him for that. And a huge thank you for you willingness to share in your blog It's definitely a blessing to all of us Myriam from Switzerland

  3. SchoolinMama said,

    You always have such great links! We loved I Am Second! Thanks and blessings,
    Danielle

Leave a Reply

