Pool Party!

March 9, 2009 at 9:58 am (Uncategorized)

Last Friday we had my daughters 8th birthday party.  Since her birthday is in February she never even dreamed of having a pool party, but this year we did just that!  A few months ago we joined a health club and one thing we LOVE about it is the INDOOR POOL!  YAY!!!  When we found out you could rent it for a party she was thrilled! 

Here is the pool with our gang having FUN!

The birthday girl swimming!

Her goofy big brother did his best to entertain the little girls!

Playing with her big brother.

Under the mushroom!

Playing in the fountains with a friend.

A few of the girls having fun!

After swimming it was time for cake!
Cute huh???

Okay, here is the story of the cake…My daughter was really excited about the pool theme.  So I Googled "swimming pool cakes" and I found this cool website with tons of ideas on how to make one.  No problem, right???

Problem!
My cake FELL!!!  I baked it after dinner the night before the party and when I went to decorate it at 9:30 pm I found it in it’s fallen state!  When I fail I fail spectacularly!  LOL  So at 10:00 pm my husband and I head off to buy another cake mix.  (Yes I did this bad WITH a mix.  I have confessed before that I am a terrible baker!)  Thankfully, when we got to the store my husband took pity on me and suggested I buy a cake that was already decorated around the edges and just put the pool in the middle.  Whew!  So the cake is store bought, but the pool I did.  :^)  My daughter and I both were just thrilled with how it came out!

Here are the kids ready to cut the cake!

The birthday girl with the cake.

Blowing out the candle.

She waited patiently to get the piece with the Polly Pocket in the Gummy Lifesaver floatie! 

Yummy!!

My daughter wanted to do a craft so the boys made sun visors.

And the girls made flower necklaces…

My hubby with the boys.

Me with the mom’s
This picture made me really realize how blessed we have been to meet such great people here so quickly!  A year ago Saturday was the day we got SNOW and we were staying at our friends house looking for a house to live in. (We had only been in the State about 2 weeks!)  A year later we are all settled and surrounded by the sweetest most wonderful families!  I couldn’t feel more blessed. 

Just a couple more pictures of my daughter opening gifts!

I think she had a good birthday!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

1 Comment

  1. Dana @ School For Us said,

    The cake (ummm… the 2nd one, that is) looks terrific! 🙂 Looks like a wonderful party and what can beat a pool party in February???
    Dana, http://www.alexml.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

