Questions Homeschooled Teens Get Asked

March 11, 2009 at 9:38 am (Uncategorized)

I was having a conversation with my oldest son the other day and he said something like "…and then he asked me the normal questions everyone asks about being homeschooled for High School."  I stopped him right there!  What are these questions I wondered?  Here is what he told me…

  1. Do you like being homeschooled?
  2. Do you get to sleep late every day?
  3. Don’t you miss seeing your friends every day?
  4. How exactly does it work?  Does your Mom teach you or do you work alone?
  5. Can you work ahead and take days off?

Interesting?  Then of course I had to ask him what his answers are.

Q. Do you like being homeschooled?
A. Yes, I like it!  I like that I can work at my own pace and have time to do things that I want to do.

Q. Do you get to sleep late every day.
A.  I get up at 9:30 a.m. when my alarm goes off.  So yeah, I guess I do!

Q. Don’t you miss seeing your friends every day?
A. No, I don’t miss it because I have always been homeschooled so it’s normal for me. 
I don’t think socializing is the point of school anyway.

Q. How exactly does it work?  Does your Mom teach you or do you work alone?
A. My mom gives me my lessons and I work on my own.  I have 3 computer programs I use. 
(Biology, Algebra and Japanese ) and then I have a lot of books I read.

Q. Can you work ahead and take days off?
A.  Yes!  I can and I do.  I really like that I can move my school around to fit my schedule.

Last but not least, I asked him what the response to all this usually is when he tells these things to other teens.  He replied "Yes mom, they almost always say they wish they were homeschooled!"  :^)

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

1 Comment

  1. Anonymous said,

    He's gotten good with these questions. I think it's a good idea to think out what questions always come up and to be ready with the answers.

    K-Sue
    http://www.createdforgoodworks.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

