Weekend Surprise!

March 16, 2009 at 7:10 am (Uncategorized)

We had a great surprise over the weekend.  My friend Faye called to let us know that her oldest son, now 19, was passing through town and had a 12 hour layover!  Did we want to go pick him up?  Uh, YES!!!

We have known Faye’s boys since they were 5 and 8 years old. (My son was three.)   It never ceases to amaze me how God provides just the people we need in our lives just when we need them!  When my oldest was one year old we moved to Northern California.  Within the first week we were there we met his first best friend, Allison.  She was a sweet little girl in our playgroup born just 10 days before my son.  They were inseparable and since my son was an only child at the time she was the perfect mate to work through all his toddler issues with!  :^) We were so blessed to have her as a friend.  We saw each other nearly every day.  Then when they were 4 Allison moved away!  :^( We were crestfallen!  What would we do without Allison?  But, again God provided just what my son needed!  Faye’s boys!!!  These boys treated my oldest son like a brother.  We were together all the time and again my son had kid who loved him, played with him and let him work through all the lessons kids can learn best with siblings.  For the next 6 years (until we moved away.) these boys were inseparable.  When my 2 littles came along I knew for sure that we were blessed that my oldest had these relationships to prepare him for being a big brother!

Thankfully through the years we have kept in touch with both Allison and Faye’s boys. It is always so fun when we get to see each other.  It amazes me how we can be apart and time can pass, but when we are back together the kids just pick up where they left off. 

I was telling someone that we were expecting Faye’s son and how the boys were like brothers when they were little.  My son overheard me and later told me "You know mom your right, we are like brothers.  It’s nice to have someone to look up to that I respect and spent so much time with when I was little."  What a blessing!

All the kid together.  (And the dog and cat too!  LOL)

Just the big boys.  (Ignore the wound up little sister in the background! LOL)

We are hoping for many more long layovers in the future!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

Leave a Reply

