American Girl Club – Kaya – Week 4 & 5

March 18, 2009 at 9:08 am (Uncategorized)

I got a little behind in my American Girl Club posting, so here is week 4 and 5 together.

For week 4 of American Girl Club – Kaya we made necklaces and tee pee art.

For the tee pee art I got the original idea here to make the hide from paper.  But, then I found a tee pee coloring sheet and had the girls color and add that too.  Then we crumpled it up and used a cotton ball to put a thin coat of black black tee pee.  (Which we rubbed off with a paper towel.)  Here is the coloring sheet we used.
 I just love the way they turned out.

This is the necklaces the girls made.  The pendant is a picture I had in a scrapbooking program.  I printed it and then they glued it to poster board and covered it clear contact paper.  Then they punched a hole and put a hemp cord through it.  Then they put beads on the cord. 
Here is a similar printable necklace. 

We also read about horses and travois and the toys of Native American children in our In Kaya’s World book.

For snack we had Maple Popcorn

:^)

For week 5 we made Native American dresses for our dolls.
They came out SO cute!

These were really easy and NO SEW except for the beads that the girls sewed on for embellishment.  We basically cut out a piece that went over her head then we made a belt to go around the waste through a small slit in the fabric.  Then the girls cut fringe and sewed on beads to fancy them up.

Here is another shot were you can see a little better how they are made.

The girls working on their dresses.

My daughter working on hers.

For week 5 we also read about Native American dresses, salmon and parafleches in our In Kaya’s World book

I also read some information I found online about Salmon to the girls and gave them a worksheet to learn more about salmon at home. 

Information on Salmon
http://library.stjosephsea.org/salmon.htm

pdf on Salmon
http://www.bpa.gov/Corporate/KR/ed/reslist/journey.pdf

Nez Perce website for kids
http://www.bigorrin.org/nez_kids.htm

For snack we had Bannock

Whew!  I think that is it for weeks 4 and 5.  We have one more week of Kaya and then we will have 6 weeks on Felicity before we break for the Summer.

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

Click HERE to view my post on  Kaya – American Girl Club week #1

Click HERE to view my post on Kaya – American Girl Club week #2

Click HERE to view my post on Kaya – American Girl Club week #3

5 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    Those dresses are so cute! My daughter is in the process of making a jean skirt for Julie. I know as soon as I show her this she will be making a dress for Kaya too! Thanks for posting this…it is great!
    Gerky
    http://homefrontlines.blogspot.com

  2. melinda@mamabearscubhouse.com said,

    i want a doll and i want to do all these activites. and i'm almost 35!
    thank you for sharing your creativity and homeschooling process!!

  3. Anonymous said,

    Your AG coop is just fabulous.
    Susan (mamaduso)

  4. carsonsnc said,

    I just love your club and am very interesed to know what kinds of things you do at your meetings. I am starting one at our local library open to fellow homeschoolers and I hope you don't mind but I would love to use some of your ideas. Thank you for your wonderful blog, it inspires me to get started on one.
    God bless,
    Royale

  5. Jenny C. said,

    I love all your posts about your American Girl club! I stumbled across your blog while doing some research. I am a homeschooling mom who will be teaching an American Girl class in our local co-op. Your blog entries have given me so many ideas! Thank you!
    I was wondering if you have a specific pattern or the dimensions and shape of the fabric for the no-sew dress you would be willing to share? Also what sort of fabric did you use?
    Thanks!
    Blessings,
    Jenny

Leave a Reply

