Another Basket

March 24, 2009 at 8:59 am (Uncategorized)

After I made the sample coil baskets for this week’s American Girl Club I just couldn’t get baskets off my mind!  I kept thinking about how the Native American’s would not have had cotton cord to use as the base for their baskets.  I wanted to see what it would be like to make a basket just from natural materials.  I already had my big bag of unruly raffia!  So I figured I would give it a try!  (BTW, my son looked it up online and raffia comes from a Raffia Palm tree and the material we buy in the craft stores is the fibrous part of the palm leaves.)

After looking around online a little I decided my biggest problem with the unruly raffia was that I was trying to use it dry.  So this time I soaked it first. 
This made a HUGE difference!

Here is my basket in the process of being made.
Basically I have a handful of the raffia going to the left and a couple pieces going up and around.  Then you just wrap, coil and tuck.  (Over and over and over.)  To add to the wrapping side I took a couple of new strands grasp the end of the new pieces into the left side and then started including it in the part I was using to wrap.  When my ends got short I just bent them over into the left side and wrapped them up to.  To add to the other side I would grab a bundle and work it in as I was wrapping.  It was really fun!

Here is the end result!
As you can see I ended up making two.  I had soaked the whole bag of raffia and I couldn’t bring myself to throw any of it away.  So I used it all up. :^)

I left a little of the part I was wrapping sticking out and used a fresh piece to tie it off and make a bow.  I like that the loose raffia showing so you can see that it is made completely of the raffia.  :^)

Now I just keep thinking about the fact that the baskets Kaya made had to be able to hold water!  LOL  I can’t even imagine how to get one to do that!

The fun thing about homeschooling is it’s not just the kids who are learning!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

1 Comment

  1. Dana @ School For Us said,

    Wow! Great job!!!

Leave a Reply

