Passover 2009

April 10, 2009 at 6:04 pm (Uncategorized)

Since we started observing Passover a few years ago I look forward to Passover more than any other day of the year.  I love Passover.  It is so meaningful to me and I feel so close to Christ when we go through the Passover liturgy.  I feel this way not only because Christ observed Passover, but because the entire Passover meal is loaded with confirmation that He is the one true God and Savior!

Last night was Passover, I was SO excited when I learned that our new church would be hosting a Passover Seder!  You know me, I immediately signed up the whole family to help out!  LOL The kids and I were at the church all day helping cook and set up.  I love it when we get a chance to serve together as a family! 

It was a lovely evening!  We all enjoyed it so much….Here are some pictures of this years Seder.

Our pretty Passover Table
We set up 15 of these tables that each seated 8 people.  So we prepped for 120 guests.  We had a pretty full house so I would say there was at least 110 in attendance.

The Rabbi

The cup for Elijah..

Tasting the greens dipped in saltwater.
The greens reminds us of new life.  The saltwater reminds us of the tears shed by the Jewish people while they were in slavery in Eqypt.

The girls are closing their eyes while the Rabbi hides the Afikoman for the children to find later.

My son eating the bitter herbs (horseradish!)

This is eaten to so that we will remember "…they embittered their lives with hard labor: with mortar and bricks, with every kind of work in the fields; all the work which they made them do was rigorous." (Exodus 1:14)

My husband and 2 oldest.

If you have never attended a Passover I would encourage you to do so!  If you would like to learn more you can read a Messianic Haggadah
HERE.  This is the liturgy that is used to preform the Passover.  I guarantee you will learn much and be blessed just by reading through it!

NEXT YEAR IN JERUSALEM!

Jamin

Click HERE to view my post on Passover 2006
Click HERE to view my post on Passover 2007
Click HERE to view my post on our Passover Lapbook

Here are some good activities and info on Messianic Passover:

http://www.thehomeschoolmom.com/schoolroom/passover.php

1 Comment

  1. mijubrifarms said,

    Wish I would have been on sooner and seen these pics on time. Not many of share passover, this was our, I think, our 10th Passover…I could eat parsley in salt water all night, and there's never enough horseradish. Baruch HaShem for his appointed times.

Leave a Reply

