20 Years Ago Today…

April 21, 2009 at 8:58 am (Uncategorized)

20 years ago today these were the wedding vows my husband and I exchanged;

ME – I will follow everywhere you lead me.

DH – Face the things you face go where you go.

ME – I will be there when you say you need me.

DH – Hide the things you hide show what you show.

ME – Your land will be my land,

DH – And your people will be my people too.

ME – Your God will be my God.

DH – Only death can separate me from you.

Wow, it’s been 20 years?  As I look back over the vows we took I know that we truly had no idea what we were getting into all those years ago. 

Did we ever dream that the following would lead to 3 different States and 5 homes in 20 years?  We never thought about the fact that some of the things we would face could be job losses, the loss of our parents, and the loss of our first baby.  Did we understand that the times we would really need each other would often be the times when we were at our worst?  Being there when we need each other has not always been a walk in the park, but it has been worth it!

One of my favorite lines from this is "Your people will be my people too."  How true that is all these years later!  I can’t imagine my life without my husbands family!  And, yes we have shared a love for the same Lord all these years.  I can’t even begin to tell you all the things my husband has taught me about following Christ.  And most of the things he has taught me about Christ he has done without saying a word. 

Yep, they are good vows.  We said them again when we renewed our vows 5 years ago on our 15th anniversary.  Honestly though, we renew them every day when we decide to continue to love each other.  There are some days that each of us are more loveable than other days!  There are some days that the vows are easier to keep than others.  But, that is where the last one comes in. "Only death can separate me from you".  That is the really important one!  In the end that is the one that makes it all worthwhile….

For whither thou goest, I will go;
And where thou lodgest, I will lodge;
Thy people shall be my people;
And thy God my God.

Ruth 1: 16-17

Happy 20th Anniversary my love!

Click HERE to read my post on Marriage

Click HERE to read 18 Things I Love About My Husband

Jamin

P.S. Just a reminder if you are voting daily for the bag I designed…you can vote HERE and read my post about my bag HERE. THANKS!

P.S. again…  I happen to walk through the room and heard something funny on TV the other day.  An older man was asked what it was like to be married 50 years. He replied "Being married 50 years has been as easy as taking a deep breath….while being at the bottom of the ocean."  ROFL!!!!  I am not sure what show it was, but it made me laugh!

1 Comment

  1. Amy said,

    I stumbled across a link to your blog on some homeschool site or another, and just wanted to let you know how much I have been enjoying it. Not only am I getting a ton of creative homeschooling ideas, but your cheerful humor has brightened my day. Congratulations on your 20th anniversary and your lovely family!

Leave a Reply

