The Screaming Has Begun!!

May 4, 2009 at 7:31 am (Uncategorized)

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;}

I wasn’t planning on blogging about our trip until we got back home.  Then I saw this…

THE WASHINGTON MONUMENT!!!

I didn’t mean to start screaming, but a lifetime of waiting to see WAHINGTON D.C. overtook me last night and I couldn’t stop squealing with delight!  WASHINGTON D.C.!!!!!!!!!!!! We just pulled into town late last night after 20 plus hours of driving in non-stop heavy rain to get here.  It is suppose to rain all week and I thought that might put a damper on things.  But, I think my reaction to seeing the Washington Monument made everyone realize that even if it rains the entire trip this is a dream come true trip for mom!  So far we have just seen the Washington Monument, Lincoln Memorial and the Potomac River from the car.  Even if I saw nothing else the trip would be worth it!  I never thought about how seeing the Potomac would affect me.  I couldn’t believe that was the same river George Washington, Abe Lincoln and all the other Presidents had seen.  Words can’t even describe my excitement.  I kept naming Presidents over and over and telling the kids that each of those Presidents had seen that very Potomac River!  (They are use to my enthusiasm, but I think my level of excitement even surprised them a little bit! My husband just shook his head, laughed at me and kept driving.  I think he is pretty proud of himself that he finally got me here!) I alternate between screaming in excitement and being speechless! (Being speechless is a pretty rare thing for me!, but then again I don’t scream much in a normal day either.  LOL)  I told the kids they are going to have to take turns over the next two weeks reminding me to breath.  Whew!!! (Breath in, breath out…repeat…)

Today we plan on mostly resting, getting settled in the hotel and seeing the Atlantic Ocean.  THE ATLANTIC OCEAN!  Once I see it I will have traveled from coast to coast in this amazing country of ours and I will have seen the Pacific, the Gulf of Mexico and the Atlantic!  WOW!!!!!!!!!! (My kids will have seen all 3 also, except my youngest , who hasn’t seen the Gulf of Mexico yet.)

I am not sure how often I will find the time to blog while we are here, but the whole family pretty much agreed (After my reaction to just driving down Constitution Ave.) that I need to document this trip while I am swept up in all the joy and excitement of the moment.  LOL

Wow, we are here!  If any of you live in DC, Baltimore, Maryland, or Virginia and you hear screaming don’t be alarmed!  It’s just me enjoying our Nations capital!  LOL

<<insert Jamin doing the happy dance!>>

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

 

10 Comments

  1. Fran said,

    Between the updates from you and B, I feel like I'm there with you! Have a great time!Edited by jaminacema on May. 4, 2009 at 8:57 AM

  2. TJ said,

    I'm so glad you made it! I am so glad to hear you are having a wonderful time on your trip! It is an amazing city :o) Be sure to see the Smithsonian! That was one of my favorite places, too!

  3. Anonymous said,

    I can feel you're excitement! I do hope you document this trip! We are planning to go to Washington DC in the future (we are not far~NJ) my 7 year old wants to go badly.
    Enjoy your trip!!!
    Michele
    http://koreamom.blogspot.com

  4. Anonymous said,

    I feel so lame. This totally brought tears to my eyes. I am so happy for you and I hope one day to see Washington DC myself! Have a great trip, and yes I do think you need to blog through it!
    Susan
    fromthenarrows.blogspot.com

  5. Anonymous said,

    YAY!! How exciting! I went in school a few times, but want to return as a homeschooler…Two WEEKS??!! You will really be able to soak in those museums…. Have a great time and update us on what your littles liked best. ~Angela

  6. Julie B said,

    J,
    That is great! Continue having a blast. Elvis is having fun, most of the time. Sometimes he is just looking for his family. Only ran out once, because I didn't warn the hubby and he went chasin Elvis. He likes the rooms best because that's where he can get on furniture. Any how, I'm so glad I was able to dogsit for you, he is sweet! Talk to you soon, have fun!
    Love ya,
    Julie BEdited by jaminacema on May. 4, 2009 at 1:35 PM

  7. Anonymous said,

    Yippy!!! enjoy and return safe to us!

  8. Anonymous said,

    We're so excited for you!! We got to go to DC and Virginia back in 2001 and it is so amazing to be where so much history has happened! Big History!! Looking forward to hearing all about it!
    Brittany and Megan M.

  9. Dana @ School For Us said,

    So, are you excited to be in DC? 🙂

    I have about 3 or 4 places on the top of my list to see, and DC is one of them! Actually, I went as a child, but it didn't mean near as much to me then as it would now.

    Anyway, enjoy! And please share when you can!!!
    Dana,www.alexml.blogspot.com

  10. Jessy said,

    We're hoping to do a similar trip this fall! We brought the kids to DC several years ago, but I think they would enjoy it more now that we've spent a year studying American History. We had a blast and even EXTENDED our vacation to have more time! (We still didn't see everything that we wanted too.)

    Enjoy! And hopefully the rain won't last long!

Leave a Reply

