I Had The Time of My Life!

May 8, 2009 at 9:24 am (Uncategorized)

Yesterday we went to the National Museum of American History!  My 14 year old called me a "History Geek" and I think he hit the nail on the head!  LOL  We were there from open to close and I LOVED every minute of it!  (We all did!) There is no way that I can post about the whole experience while we are still on our trip.  (I do have to sleep sometime!  hehehe)  So I am picking our 5 favorite things and just telling you about those.  (Don’t worry I took 188 pictures and will share a LOT more later!)

Frist off I have to introduce you to our wonderful friends that joined us for the day!  This is another sweet sister in Christ I met at Bible Study.  However, we met at Bible Study in Las Vegas.  (I know it sounds like an oxy-moron, but people do study the Bible in Las Vegas!  LOL)  Anyway, this sweet friend I always think of as a gift for hanging in there and waiting to see what God had to teach me by living in LV.  You see I met this sweet friend the week AFTER my husband moved for his new job and the kids and I were staying back to try and sell the house.  If I would have left when my husband did I never would have met her!  Instead I "got" to stay around for a year (on my own without my hubby) and build a great new friendship.  We knew they would be moving to Pennsylvania soon after we left, but I didn’t think I would get to see them again this soon!  God is GOOD!!!

So here I am with my friend.

Oh, did I mention she had a new baby since we last saw her.  We were THRILLED to meet her new daughter!

Here are all the kids together again!
So yep, not only did we get to explore the wonderful Smithsonian American History Museum, but we got to do it with friends!

Here are 5 of our favorite things we saw…

#5 The desk the Declaration of Independence was written on!
(Hand made by Jefferson himself!)

#4 This was my daughters favorite!  Dorothy shoes from The Wizard of Oz!

#3 My 13 year old LOVED seeing the hat worn by Lincoln the night he was killed.

#2 The look on my little man’s face when he saw C3PO was priceless!

#1 – MARTHA WASHINGTONS DRESS! This was my favorite without a doubt.  (Although I LOVED it all!)
If I get excited when I dirve on a freeway near where Washington possibly ride his horse once…You can imagine what seeing this did to me! :^)

I wish I had time to show you all the pictures!  It was a dream come true day full of History for a geek like me! 

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

3 Comments

  1. CheleLew said,

    I'm am so right there with ya. The Declaration…oh my, the red ruby slippers…oh my (there truly is not place like HOME), the dress from Martha Washington…oh my….C3PO — cool…..but, thank you for sharing your picture of Lincoln's top hat…he is my far my favority president. I must take the family to this museum……..I can't wait for more pictures of your exciting trip to the East Coast. And yes one of the beautiful benefits of living on the East Coast is the lush green that happens in the spring.
    Chelelew @ hsb.com/chelelew

  2. Dana @ School For Us said,

    You have me just itching to go! 🙂 I guess I'm a history geek, too. But, I just discovered how wonderful history was when my daughter was about 3 years old and I started to read history picture books to her. I really thought history was boring before! Now, I LOVE IT!
    Dana, http://www.alexml.blogspot.com

  3. courtneylane said,

    Too funny Jamin! I would react the EXACT same way you have if I could take a trip like this!

Leave a Reply

