A Whirlwind of Wonderful!

May 13, 2009 at 6:49 am (Uncategorized)

Yesterday a friend emailed me about our trip and closed by saying:

Sounds like it’s been a whirlwind of "wonderful"! 

I thought that summed up the trip so well!  Wow, we are down to our last few days of this wonderful whirlwind!  We will start the long drive back Thursday night when my husband finishes up work.

Yesterday I took the kids into Washington D.C. one last time.  We spent the morning at the National Museum of the American Indian.  FABULOUS!  A few months ago I was looking online for a Native American Museum to visit in our area to close up our Kaya study.  The only one I could find nearby was closed for updating. Well, this one certainly was an awesome way to review all we had learned!  We LOVED it!  I will post more pictures soon, but I just had to say this is a great museum if you get a chance to visit.

Here are a couple shots of the outside of the building:

The style of the building is pretty amazing against all the traditional buildings around it! (This sits right next to the National Air Space Museum.)

After laughing our way through lunch at the Indian Museum. (My oldest son made me spew soda out my nose during lunch, which was a highlight of the trip for the kids!  LOL  He is SO funny! Yeah, you can’t take me anywhere!) 

After lunch we mosied over to the National Air Space Museum.  We spent the rest of the afternoon and early evening there.  Dad even joined us when he got off work.  My 5 year old LOVED this museum!  My favorite part was the Wright Brothers room!  They have the original 1903 plane they first flew.  It was amazing!  I will post LOTS of pictures soon.  (Right now I need to finish up writing and go back to bed, it is 4:00 in the morning and everyone else is sleeping behind me in the hotel room.)

Here is one picture of the Wright Brother Plane:


After the museum closed we made our way over to see The White HouseIt was surreal!  It seemed smaller than I thought it would be.  I have seen it on T.V. all my life and I just couldn’t believe I was finally standing in front of it!


Anyway, it was a great day!  I vowed to myself that this would be a day where I would follow the kids lead.  I made suggestions about what museums we should go to.  But, I left my agenda of what we would see and do behind.  I just wandered behind them and let them have FUN!  It made for a stress free day and I know they enjoyed getting to be tour guide for mom!

I probably won’t have time to post the rest of the pictures until we get back home.  I suspect I will be blogging about this trip for weeks to come!  It has been the trip of a lifetime, I don’t want to forget a minute of it!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

1 Comment

  1. dianmcharp said,

    I thought of you yesterday as my family I went to Night at the Museum 2: The Battle of the Smithsonian. Hey – Jaminacema was there a couple of weeks ago!!

Leave a Reply

