Colonial Williamsburg – Magazine

May 28, 2009 at 8:55 am (Uncategorized)

mag⋅a⋅zine

–noun
1.     a publication that is issued periodically, usually bound in a paper cover, and typically contains essays, stories, poems, etc., by many writers, and often photographs and drawings, frequently specializing in a particular subject or area, as hobbies, news, or sports.
2.     a room or place for keeping gunpowder and other explosives, as in a fort or on a warship.
3.     a building or place for keeping military stores, as arms, ammunition, or provisions.

4.     a metal receptacle for a number of cartridges, inserted into certain types of automatic weapons and when empty removed and replaced by a full receptacle in order to continue firing.

When I hear the word magazine I think of a periodical publication I can read and re-read!  But, the Magazine we visited at Colonial Williamsburg was something entirely different!  We are talking weapons here!  Boy, did they ever have weapons!

This is the fence around the magazine. I am amazed be the varitey of fences they made out of trees back then! (I could do a whole post with just all the pics of tree fences I took!  LOL)

The outside of the building

The sign below reads…

THE MAGAZINE 1715

PRESERVED AND OWNED BY THE ASSOCIATION for the PRESERVATION OF VIRGINIA ANTIQUITIES

RESTORED AND EXHIBITED BY COLONIAL WILLIAMSBURG INCORPORATED
This building is really old!

Canteens and gunpowder flasks hung by the door.


The lock on the door.

Seeing all these weapons up close made me really think about how hand to hand the combat was back then.


A gun being cleaned.

bayonets

A small cannon

Axes!

Swords
Lots and lots of swords!

Swords and pounches

bayonets

Drums and pistols

My military loving 5 year old enjoyed this moment!
The soldier was so nice to him.  I asked if we could get a picture of him with my son.  He said "Sure, would he like to hold my weapon?"  He made my little man really happy!

Ben glanced at Felicity. Then he said to Isaac in a low voice, "I made a delivery to the Raleigh Tavern yesterday morning.  I heard a rumor that Governor Dunsmore has the key to the Magazine, where all the colonists gunpowder is stored.  They say the governor wants to have his marines take all the gunpowder away."
Happy Birthday Felicity book 4 page 15



The gaurdhouse (This is a reproduction.)

Seeing the magazine and all these weapons gave me a whole different perspective on what the battles must have been like back then.  Even today I can’t imagine what combat must be like.  Then I read stories like the recent one about the solider in Afghanistan who was fighting in his pink boxer shorts I am in awe of the men and women who have gone to war for over 200 years to provide freedom for the rest of us.

What a blessed country we live in!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

Leave a Reply

