American History Museum Re-Visited Part II

June 11, 2009 at 8:53 am (Uncategorized)

Okay, here is the rest of our day at the Smithsonian National Museum of American History. After lunch we returned to the museum and headed over to the Abe Lincoln exhibit.  My oldest son is completely fascinated with Lincoln.  So we spent a lot of time here.

This is the life mask of Lincoln made early in his Presidency.

Outfits of both Abraham and Mary Lincoln.
Wow, she had a tiny waist! And look how short she was compared to him.

My daughter went crazy over this little purse. 
It was so cute.  That is a ring Mrs. Lincoln could wear on her finger and the purse would dangle below her hand.  My daughter wants one!  LOL

This was a quote they had on the wall from the day he was killed.  I just thought was so heart wrenching..

“During the drive he was so gay,” Mary said, “that I said to him, laughingly, ‘Dear Husband, you almost startle me by your great cheerfulness,’ he replied, ‘and well I may feel so, Mary, I consider this day, the war, has come to a close.”

Here is the hat he was wearing the night he was killed.

And another sign I found interesting.

Here is another life mask made near the end of his life.

The sign near this said:

The strain of the presidency was written on Abraham Lincoln’s face. His secretary, John Hay, remarked on the dramatic difference in Lincoln’s two life masks. He noted that the first (displayed earlier in the exhibition) “is a man of fifty-one, and young for his years. . . . It is a face full of life, of energy, of vivid aspiration. . . . .The other is so sad and peaceful in its infinite repose . . . . a look as of one on whom sorrow and care had done their worst without victory is on all the features.”

We loved the Lincoln exhibit, but there was still a lot more to see!

This I think was the weirdest thing I saw in the museum.This was in a section about things people collected to commemorate the presidents.  This was a sample of hair from each of the first 14 presidents!  I am not sure how someone got hair from the presidents.  But, it certainly reminded me that a lot has changed since then!

Just because he is cute!

This was a section of the museum that was about the wars starting with the Revolutionary war and continuing forward.  I wish I could have taken more pictures but by this time of the day my 5 year old was beyond tired and it took all my energy and focus to just get him through the exhibit.  I would love to go back and spend a whole day just in this section.

This was a chair that belonged to George Washington.

This is the only uniform of George Washington’s still to be in existence.  The boots and ruffled shirt are reproductions.

Furniture from Appomattox Court House, Virginia, 1865
These are the chairs used by Generals Robert E. Lee and Ulysses S. Grant and the table on which Grant signed the terms of surrender to end the Civil War.

Rosie the Riveter outfit.

The kids try their hand at riveting.  (It is harder than it looks!)

Last but not least we visited the pop culture section.

My daughter still can’t get over seeing the ruby slippers!

Puffy shirt from Sienfeld and Oscar the Grouch.

And of course we all loved seeing Kermit the Frog?

So this museum took us from Martha Washington to Kermit the Frog! If that is not a trip through American History I don’t know what is!  LOL

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

Click HERE to view American History Museum Re-Visited Part I

1 Comment

  1. tlpgina said,

    Very cool…looks like you had a blast…we're hoping for Boston's freedom trail next week…we'll see…
    Gina

Leave a Reply

