Kiddie Pool Raised Garden

June 12, 2009 at 7:28 am (Uncategorized)

My daughter has been wanting a veggie garden for years.  We always had a nice one when we lived in Northern California. But, once we moved to the desert we gave it up.  So now that we are in a little easier part of the USA to grow things we decided to give it a try again. I knew we wanted to do raised beds. We don’t have the time, energy or equipment to till the soil in our backyard.  So I started looking around the internet for easy ways to plant a raised bed.  That is where I got the idea to use a baby pool!

Here is my daughter with her newly planted garden.  As you can see we still have more things to plant.  Which will have to go in another pool or some pots since this pool is out of space.
As you can see we also have it up on a old table. (I wish I would have painted it first with that can of black spray paint I bought last year!  LOL) 
Obviously we are not going to be getting a call from Better Homes and Garden asking us to put our yard on the cover of their next issue.  But, we are more interested in happy kids than magazine covers anyway.  :^) I thought having it up higher would make it nice for my daughter so everything would be right at her level and also it won’t leave a dead spot in the grass where the pool would be sitting.

So far it seems to be going well.    As you can see the plants are getting BIG.  We got a late start with planting since most of this really should have been planted while were on vacation.  But, I am hopeful we will get some goodies to harvest anyway.  We are looking forward to having our own yummy food growing right in our own backyard!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

4 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    We tried that too. Hope it works for you all. Now we are trying the square foot type.

    Martha
    http://www.sunrisetosunset123.blogspot.com

  2. www.ShadyBayouAcademy.blogspot.com said,

    I love this idea!

  3. Jessy said,

    My little girl wants a flower garden and this might work for her! (We found out that we can get FREE compost from our Transfer Station! Yay)

    We also Square Foot Garden! Raised beds and fairly easy to get a good crop! The kids "snack" on the garden from July – September!

  4. Jennifer said,

    I'm inspired… this weekend we will turn the boys' old sandbox into their veggie garden. My 8yo ds has also been begging for a veggie garden, but our yard has to be terraced first – and that's not getting done this year. Since the sandbox is already placed in our teeny back yard, I don't have to worry about finding a space for it… and since the boys will still get to play in the dirt, I don't think they'll miss it much. We were figuring this was the last year for it anyway. Thanks so much for sharing this. Happy veggie growing.

Leave a Reply

