National Air and Space Museum – Re-Visted

June 16, 2009 at 8:29 am (Uncategorized)

As promised yesterday I am getting back to posting about the National Air and Space Museum

Here are my excited kids right as we entered the museum

The first thing we did was head over to the How Things Fly exhibit.
This is where we spent most of our time.  The kids were the tour guides for this day and they all loved how hands on this area was.

There were knobs to twist…

Buttons to push…

We made things float…

We learned about lift…

And drag…

This was an experiement on how to steer.
The kids sat on a stool that would turn in circles holding a wheel.  Then the helper spun the wheel and let them steer themselves.

He liked it!

She liked it!

They all liked it!
I didn’t try this one.

But I liked this one!
I was supposed to be learning about pitch, roll and yaw, but mostly I was enjoying the great breeze from the fan blowing in my face!  LOL

My oldest gave it a try too.

I am not sure what they are looking at here…
But…it made me laugh when I saw this picture!  It must have been something interesting!  LOL (Notice my stroller in the front of the picture filled to the brim with stuff!)

The kids loved the section on space.
Just one of the many pics I took in this area.

Then we went to my favorite part of the museum…

The kids with the Wright Brothers! :^)

One of the only Wright Bicycles still to exist.

The first plane to ever fly! 
My daughter really enjoyed this area because she knew this was the same time period as the Samantha stories took place.  In the books the Aunt Cornelia talks about how she would love to fly and they Grandmother is shocked!  She can’t believe anyone would do something so foolish!  We really enjoyed a little jute box they had with all the songs that came out about flying in the early 1900’s. 

Then saw Amelia Earharts plane!


And her jacket, goggles and radio.

The Spirit of Saint Louis was cool too!

Okay, this blew me away!  This was in a section about how computers had changed the world of flight. Look at the little microchip that is in the center of the circle in the window below…
The sign said that one microchip replaces 1 million transistors…

Which are what is filling the tower!
This so impressed me I had to drag my husband over to show him. (Okay, now I get why computer have gotten so much smaller and faster!) He is a electronics major and he just looked at me and laughed!  Well, it may not have impressed him, but it sure did impress me!  LOL

So that was our last day of visiting the Smithsonian Museums.  I can’t wait until we can go again and see more!  There are 19 Smithsonian Museums in the D.C. area we "only" made it to 4 of them.  So we have plenty to look forward to next time!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

2 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    It's so fun to see your photos–we just visited a few weeks ago. We're headed back when the weather breaks, probably in September. Are you local? We're in Baltimore.
    Deb
    http://www.aswewalk.com

  2. Anonymous said,

    So glad you and your family enjoyed the Downtown location. Come out to Dulles to see evan more! Join us Saturday for a event you wont soon forget.
    http://www.nasm.si.edu/becomeapilot/

Leave a Reply

