Cooking and Homeschooling

June 22, 2009 at 9:12 am (Uncategorized)

The kids and I love the Food Network.  We Tivo Good Eats, Throwdown, Food Detectives, Ace of Cakes and the Food Challenge shows.   One things that never ceases to amaze me is the shows where they can give several people the same ingredients and challenge them to make the same dish and they come out completely different.  The other day while I was scrambling eggs I got to thinking about this.  My husband was making breakfast tacos for us.  He had made the tortillas and bacon and then he said "Can you scramble the eggs, the kids like your scrambled eggs better than mine."  (Which is true, they do.)  The weird thing is that my husband and I do make scrambled eggs very different from each other.  But, the weirder thing is that we both ONLY use one ingredient….EGGS.  How can that be?  We us the same pan, the same spatula, the same stove and yet mine come out as one big fluffy pile of eggs and his come out way more scrambled.  I personally like them both ways, but it’s weird how different they are. The difference more than likely has to be in how much each of us stir the eggs.

This of course got me thinking about homeschooling. Homeschooling is not a one ingredient fits all kind of things.  Lucky for us nowadays there are almost as many curriculum choices as their are homeschoolers.  But, here is the thing…you can take 10 families and give them all the same curriculum and the learning will be different for each family.  This Fall there are several of us that do American Girl Club together that will all be using Sonlight 3 as our curriculum.  I am looking forward to it because even though I have known many people who used Sonlight I can’t ever remember us doing the same Core the same year as anyone we hung out with.  But you know what?  Each of us will end up learning in complete different ways!  What will the difference be?  The way each mom will stir things up!  LOL 

Mom’s are a HUGE factor in homeschooling!  Each of us are different and because of that each of our homeschools are different. Some are more hands on, some are crafty, some add a lot of writing assignments and others focus more on Science and Math. And this doesn’t even begin to bring in the factor of perspective!  (I am quite sure that this year I will teach American History differntly now that I have been to Washington D.C., Virgina and Philly!)

There are other factors too.  Those who have children all approximately the same age may keep everyone working together, people like me with kids spread all over the age spectrum may find themselves doing 3 Sonlight Cores in one year!  (Yes, it’s looking like we will be doing 3 Cores next year.  Pray for me!  LOL)  Some families have dad’s that are more involved in teaching than others, some have their children work more independently, some add a lot of extra materials like lapbooks and field trips.  The differences can be endless.

I say all this to remind us all of something.  At this time of year as most of us homeschool mom’s are pouring over curriculum catalogs, going to conventions, and making curriculum decisions we need to remember that who WE are is as important as the curriculum we chose.  It is important to find something we like because if it doesn’t work for mom it is not going to work for the kids either. We need to remember that we may need to change curriculum over the years as our circumstances change.  (For example the year I had a newborn a 2 year old and we moved to a new State I chose not to do Sonlight that year.  Not because I didn’t want to do Sonlight, but because I knew that for the situation I was in it was too parent involved and I wouldn’t be able to keep up. But, trust me the next year we were ready to get back to Sonlight!)

If there is one thing I have learned over the years each homeschool mom can pull together what is perfect for their family! God has differently enabled each and every one of us and given us the kids that we are perfectly suited to teach! (Even though some days it doesn’t feel that way!  LOL) That is the beauty of homeschooling.  Our homeschools can grow with us, change with us and become what we need them to be. Plus, we as mom’s get to grow and change and learn just as much as our kids do!

I am telling you scrambling eggs can be very inspiring!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin



2 Comments

  1. kaenhu said,

    and ask that you pray for us! We will be doing 4 Cores next year! Insane! One of the Cores is PreK 3/4 but still!!! Which 3 cores are you doing?

  2. Anonymous said,

    This is so right! We all learn different! Even us parents! lol My biggest problem with homeschooling my kids is comparing them to other kids! I want them to keep up and I have to stop myself! They learn different and at different paces and if they are a little behind in something that is okay! They are probably a little ahead of the others in something else! lol Thanks again for the inspiring words! God Bless you and your family!

Leave a Reply

