Schooled

July 10, 2009 at 8:07 am (Uncategorized)

I like to read mainstream books that have a homeschool theme.  I find it interesting to see what the real world thinks of homeschoolers.  My life is so enmeshed in the homeschool world that I often forget that everyone isn’t doing this!  So recently when I noticed the book "Schooled" at the bookstore I had to have it!  I could tell just by the cover that it probably had to do with homeschooling.  The cover is school bus yellow, with a yellow shiny peace sign and a yellow school bus on it.  The school bus has tye-dye curtains.  Yep, it had homeschooler written all over it!  hehehe  I flipped it over and read the back cover and my suspicious were confirmed!

Capricorn Anderson had never watched a television show before. He’d never tasted a pizza. He had never even heard of a wedgie. Since he was little, his only experience has been living on a farm commune and being homeschooled by his hippie Grandmother, Rain….

Okay, I have to admit here that in some ways I think of myself as a bit of a hippie.  I know that might seem like a weird thing for a conservative Christian to say, but let’s face it I am also a homebirthing, homeschooling, homeopathy using mama!  Just call me a Crunchy Con! LOL  So I am not offended by a hippie homeschooling book.  ;^) I bought it! 

As you might expect Cap doesn’t stay homeschooled for long.  In the first chapter he is arrested for driving his Grandmother to the hospital after she fell out of a tree.  He of course can’t really understand the problem, he’s 13 and has been driving on the commune since he was 8!   Yep, just another normal homeschooler! LOL

So while Grandma Rain goes into the hospital to recover Cap is sent off to public school.  Of course he’s clueless!  Don’t get me wrong, Rain has given him all the book knowledge that the State required and he can run a farm, make his own shoes, etc.  But, you can’t teach about the politics of public school without actually attending one and boy does he get the royal treatment!  Apparently school politics haven’t really changed much since I was in middle school.  But, here is the fun part of the book for me.  Instead of Cap failing in "society" he thrives!  Even being homeschooled in a remote and unusual way he does fine in the long run.  Having had the time and freedom to explore life in his early years really pays off.  Even when the powers that be in the school are trying to sabotage him he is able to rise above their games.  Awesome!

Without giving away too much of the story, I give this book a thumbs up!  It was a fun read and of course I liked it that the weird homeschooler comes out okay in the end.  :^)

I am guessing the book is most appropriate for about 5th grade and up.  I recommend you read it yourself before giving it to your kids.  I know there are parts that will make you smile, laugh and even wonder if this is what the real world thinks of us weird homeschoolers.  LOL

Next on my list to read is Ida B. another homeschooler turned public schooler story.

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

1 Comment

  1. Jennifer said,

    For anyone interested in reading the book Schooled, it is one of the books kids can select FREE at Barnes & Noble after reading 8 books and filling out the B & N Summer Reading Log (available in the store). Each child in grades 1-6 can fill out two logs and earn two books FREE. There are some really nice books on the FREE list. Just thought I'd share…

Leave a Reply

