Crutches

July 23, 2009 at 7:47 am (Uncategorized)

That kids informed me yesterday I was being a BEAR!  That is not the norm for me, which is apparent by the fact that the kids noticed my mood. We have been way too busy lately and I am just tired.  Add normal life stresses, a sick kid, a few recent disappointments, more week than paycheck and well everyone is entitled to a grouchy day!  So last night after I had dropped my oldest son at youth group I was sitting in the parking lot alone and So Long Self came on.  I closed my eyes, laid back my head and just listened closely to the lyrics.  That’s when I started thinking about crutches…

Every once in awhile I will hear someone will say something to the effect of "religion is a crutch!"  or "Christianity is a crutch."  and it always makes me smile.  Why?  Because it’s true!  You see if I have a broken leg I am going to use a crutches to get around.  I wouldn’t apologize for it, or be embarrassed by it.  I would be grateful for the crutches and that they made me able to get around. Now, I don’t have a broken leg, but I am a broken person.  I am NOT perfect, I am so, so, so far from it!  Everyday I mess up.  I get mad, I get tired, I get frustrated, I think of myself before others.  Sometimes I just want things my way!  Sometimes I get tired of explaining things and just want everyone to let me be!  But, I have a crutch!  His name is Jesus and he takes all my brokeness and forgives it!  Not only that He takes a broken mess like me and uses me to bless other people!  Hopefully more days than not I am a blessing to my husband, my kids, my family, my friends, my  church family, my neighbors, my blog readers  That takes a BIG God!  Because trust me, I am a mess!  A broken, selfish, weak, imperfect mess.  My God is so GOOD and I am so grateful that He is my crutch!  I have a sneaking suspicion that I am not the only one who knows that they are not perfect.  No matter how hard I try I am not capable of being who I really want to be. I am not capable on my own of being all God wants me to be.  Only God could make something beautiful out of a wretch like me.

Hopefully, for my kids sake, today will be better.  I am going to do my best to be nicer to my kids, get some rest and give my worries to God.  I am going to pray that when people see me that also see my crutch!  Because He is awesome! I pray others will see that I am doing what I can to get through life as a broken person.  I am trusting in the only one who can be trusted.  I have learned that the harder I lean on Jesus the closer I get to Him and the further away I get from my imperfect self!

So yes, I will gladly agree that Jesus is my crutch!  And if you don’t know Him…I highly recommend you lean on him yourself!

John 3:30 He must become greater; I must become less.


Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin
 

5 Comments

  1. Blessings said,

    Your message has hit me right at home!….if you were a pitcher you could not have thrown a better strike!
    God Definitely has given you special gifts in all areas. Simply putting life into such a perspective was a great read and well…… "Put MYSELF in check!" All to often we try to just keep going … doing it all. Only forgetting that we do not have to do it alone.
    You are special and wonderfully made by a perfect GOD! Thank you for reminding strangers in the world; sister and brothers in Christ!

  2. katost3 said,

    Jamin, this may sound crazy but your first sentence struck a cord with me. The very fact that your kids could tell you were in a bad mood tells me that you are normally a fun, easy going mom. I can honestly say that my kids probably would not be able to tell the difference with me most of the time & God has used that quick comment to break my heart. I have not been giving my day back to Him & I allow frustrations to take away the joy of being home with my boys. But even Bears can be used by God & changed by Him! Thank you. Many blessings in Jesus' name.
    Kamilla Ostwald (teddy bear:)

  3. Anonymous said,

    I stumbled across your blog by accident. I have been researching Sanibel Island, then I read you vacation blog, which led to reading more. That's what is wrong with the world, they think its about a religion, most don't understand that it's a relationship with our Saviour Jesus Christ! There are many religions, but only one Saviour, who suffered for us.
    I am not a homeschooler, but I am a sister in Christ. I have 2 teenage boys, and work full-time. We are going to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary in October, and I want to go to Sanibel. All the reviews on lodging make it confusing, when you have never been there. Can you help with suggestions? We can only go for about 4 nights. I live in NC, the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. Maybe it wasn't an accident that I found your blog.
    Love in Christ,
    Annette

  4. jaminacema said,

    Hi Annette, Sorry I am not familiar with Sanibel Island. I am glad you stopped by my blog though. Please stop by anytime it is always nice to meet a sister in Christ!

    Jamin

  5. www.ShadyBayouAcademy.Blogspot.com said,

    Oh, Lady, I am so with you! Our help comes from the Lord! πŸ™‚ Sweet post, friend. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

