Spelling

July 28, 2009 at 8:44 am (Uncategorized)

Both my 5 year old and my 8 year old have just exploded with their spelling this Summer.  My 5 year old is just at the point that he is realizing that letters really do make words.  So he is constantly asking "How do you spell XYZ?"  Then he runs and writes down whatever the word is we spelled for him.  He has figured out that if dog is D-O-G then H-O-G must be hog and F-O-G must be fog.  I find sheets of paper all over the house with lists of all the 3 and 4 letter words he has figured out. It is such a fun stage!  I am really looking forward to doing Sing, Spell, Read and Write with him in the Fall.  I know he will be reading in no time.

My daughter is spelling everything too.  Part of it with her is that her little brother is constantly asking her how to spell things and it is making her want to work hard to stay ahead of him. (Good peer pressure does exist!  LOL)  Yesterday morning I was already up and on the phone/computer when the littles got up.  I was talking to my Mom and my daughter called me over.  She pointed to the magnetic letters on the fridge.  She had spelled out "we want food"  It made me laugh. 

One more funny spelling story.  My husband was spelling something to me over the kids heads the other night.  My daughter said "Dad you spelled that wrong and proceeded to spell it correctly for me."  Dad didn’t miss a beat, he looked at her and said "I think I liked you better before you could read."  She was SO proud of herself for correcting Dad and thought his response was so funny! :^)

It never ceases to amaze me how much the kids bloom and grow over the Summer.  Many times I have considered schooling year around.  But, I honestly think the kids need the Summer time "off" so they can process and proceed at their own speed.  God certainly made children with a wonderful ability to learn!  I am so glad I get to sit back and watch it all happen with my kiddos.

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

Leave a Reply

