funsteps.com

July 30, 2009 at 9:00 am (Uncategorized)

I had an email from a reader who was wanting to find a preschool curriculum where they could be "creating and having fun".  She said she didn’t want to pull it together herself but was looking for a curriculum to show her how to do it.  This is out of my area of expertise, but it did remind me of the preschool program my friend Faye used with her boys.  So I sent Faye an email and this is what she had to say:


The curriculum I used was called Kapers for Kids. They are still around, but they have changed their name. They have two programs, one for ages 2-3 and one for ages 4-5–which is what they had when my boys were little. It’s kind of pricey, but we really did love it, and it was so incredibly easy for me to use, since they provide just about everything. Here is the link to their website. I hope your reader will enjoy the curriculum as much as we did–I can still see my boys on the airplane doing one of their activities–and people around me were so impressed that I was so organized–Ha!–how little they knew!

Funsteps, Inc.
http://www.funsteps.com/home.htm


After looking at the website and I can see why my friend always raved about it.  Each month you get  monthly training manual, music, calendar activities, craft projects, number and letter activities and colorful teaching aids.  I took a quick look at the pricing and it looks like with shipping it would be around $40.00 a month for one child.  (It gets significantly cheaper per child, but that doesn’t help most homeschoolers.) That is more than I spend putting things together myself, but if you factor in all the ink and paper I use for printing freebies and the gas I use running back and forth gathering craft supplies it may still be comparable.  (And if this is something you are looking for then you also have to factor in how much your time is worth each month pulling everything together.)

Just thought I would pass along this info since I know that if my friend Faye used it and loved it then others will love it too!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

1 Comment

  1. abundantlyblessedtoo said,

    Jamin, I thought I'd share a website that I found a while ago, that looks really great for young ones. I wish I'd have found it when mine were little but alas, I have 18yob, 16yob, and 12yog now….but my sister uses it for her almost 4yog.

    http://www.letteroftheweek.com/

Leave a Reply

