Free We Can/Can't Play Door Hangers

July 31, 2009 at 8:38 am (Uncategorized)

When we lived in Las Vegas our house was the neighborhood hang out. Las Vegas has year around schools which means at any given time some of the neighbor kids were out of school.  Add in the weird fact that our neighborhood was assigned to 2 different grade schools. (odd number houses went to one school and even numbered went to another.  Don’t ask me why, I have NO idea.) This meant that just because you were out of school your neighborhood friend weren’t necessarily out too.  Now my kids since they were homeschooled they were home 24/7.  The neighborhood kids were VERY happy about this!  In there eyes my kids "didn’t go to school" so they should be available to play anytime!

Soon after we moved into the neighborhood the doorbell started ringing!  I was happy to have the neighbor kids come over and play, but I also had a newborn baby that needed some peace and quiet so he could nap.  (Not to mention we actually DID do school at home, contrary to what the neighbor kids believed!) The constant ringing of the doorbell quickly became a problem!  A couple weeks after we had moved in the doorbell rang at 7:30 in the morning with a neighbor kid wanting to know if my kids could come out and play!  I knew I HAD to do something!  So I went over to my local craft store and picked up 2 of those fun foam door knob hangers.  One was red and the other green.  I glued them together, making one side red and one side green.  Then with a Sharpie marker I "NO we can’t play right now." on the red side and "YES, we can play now" on the green side.  I figured even the little kids in the neighborhood could recognize "Red means stop, and green means go."  Then every night I would hang the red side out before we went to bed, Once we had our school work done the kids would go flip the sign and the neighbor kids would start pouring in!  If I needed to put the baby down for a nap I would send everyone home and flip the sign back to red.  I can’t tell you how many times I opened my front door and found kids sitting there waiting for the sign to be flipped!  LOL (It did take some training to get the neighbor kids to pay attention the the door hangers.  But, after a few weeks we had everyone in the neighborhood on board with our system.)

I though I was so original in my idea!  Until yesterday morning when I got my daily email from Skip To My Lou!  They are offering an ADORABLE free printable version of my door hanger!  LOL  (There’s is much cuter than mine, but it still uses the red and green!)  So whether you need something to keep your doorbell from ringing all day during naps and school or just want some peace and quiet during dinner you can download your free door hangers HERE.

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

P.S.  We are going out of town today so this will be my last post for a week or so.  See you later!

P.S. Again…I just thought of something funny…After the door hanger I made for the front door was working so well I decided to try one for my bedroom door.  My daughter had just turned 3 and she was constantly barging in while I was nursing the baby to sleep and waking him up.  Since she couldn’t read yet I just glued the red and green ones together and reminded her that "Red means stop and green means go."  Much to my dismay she paid no attention to the door hanger and continued to barge in.  One day the baby and I were both almost asleep in the rocking chair when she woke us both up!  Annoyed I said to her "What does red mean?"  meekly she replied "Stop."  Then I said "And what does green mean?"  (Sounding plenty annoyed I am sure!)  She grinned and replied "GO AWAY!"  Kids are SO funny!!!!
 

Leave a Reply

