Freebie Friday August 7, 2009 Teaching Preschoolers

August 7, 2009 at 8:02 pm (Uncategorized)

Welcome to Freebie Friday!

Well, I officially have no more preschoolers in my homeschool!  My youngest is now 5 and we will be doing Kindergarten in the Fall.  I have to admit I am a bit sad, not only because my littles are growing up, but because I LOVE teaching preschool!  So in honor of my graduation from being a preschool teacher I am passing along my favorite preschool freebies this week.

Probably my very, very favorite free resource I used with my preschooler last year was the ABC Lap-N-Note at Homeschoolshare.com.  This awesome little gem has lapbooking pages for every letter of the alphabet!  We worked on a page a week along with all the other ABC activities we did.  My son is already enjoying going back and reviewing with his ABC Lap-N-Note we made last year!

DLTK also has really cute free Make Your Own Mini Books for each letter of the alphabet.  My son and I incorporated many of these into his ABC Lap-N-Note mentioned above.

There are also a lot of other great free preschool lapbooks  at Homeschoolshare.com.  My youngest son and I had fun doing the Goodnight Moon Lapbook  and the Transportation Lapbook.  

Felt Board Stories are another fun thing to do with preschoolers.  Preschoolprintables.com offers free printables for five free felt board stories to get you started!  Preschooleducation.com  has ideas on how to create your own felt board stories.  I have made several of these and I can tell you we have sung the Ladybug song from this website  hundreds of times!  My kids just loved it!

File folder games are a wonderful resource for preschoolers.  FileFolderFun.com   offers matching games, science games, alphabet games and MORE.  (You will also find free file folder games for other ages HERE.) 

If you are looking for music for your little one here is a free online Music and Circle Time Book.  It’s loaded with music, rhythm, rhymes and songs.

If you are looking for free Bible materials for you preschooler, look no longer!  Christianpreschoolprintables.com offers Bible coloring pages, Bible verse cards, Christian Lapbooks, Christian File Folder Games, Felt Board Stories, Finger Puppets, and MORE!

If you are still want more to do with your preschooler I have over 30 post on my blog dedicated to the littlest homeschoolers!  Click HERE to explore them all!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

Freebie Finder
The Old Schoolhouse® Magazine
www.TheHomeschoolMagazine.com

While every effort is made to ensure that the recommended sites are family friendly, The Old Schoolhouse Magazine and it’s writers do not own the sites recommended.  Content and advertising can change without notice.  Please exercise caution when viewing websites.  Please check out the websites before allowing your children to view them.

This article is from this weeks issue of Freebie Friday.  If you are interested in getting the Freebie Friday Newsletter you can subscribe for free HERE.  I will pass along FREE goodies for your homeschool each week.

6 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    Thanks for all the preschool lapbook links! My son just turned 3 and the things I did with my daughter when she was 3 just aren't right for him. He will love the transportation lapbook! (I didn't know about lapbooking back when dd was littler either.)

    Jen from rescuedyarnsandmoresblog.blogspot.com

  2. Anonymous said,

    I KNOW THAT THIS IS NOT ON TOUR PRESENT TOPIC; HOWEVER I WANTED TO SHARE IT WITH YOU.THERE ARE SOIME NEAT BOOKS WE CAME ACROSS BY CAROLE MARSH..THEY ARE MYSTERIES.BUT THEY TAKE PLACE IN NEAT PLACES THAT YOU GET TO LEARN ABOUT AS YOU READ. WE LOVE THEM, AND THEY ARE FUN TOO,PLEASE CHECK THEM OUTR WHEN YOU GET A CHANCE. WE ARE STARTING THE EGYPT ONE RIGHT NOW.LEENA

  3. Kris said,

    This is a wonderful post and will help me lots! I am needing to start 'school' things my my 4yo and 2yo and these suggestions are perfect.

    I think you are in a really exciting place with a soon to be Kindergartner 🙂 Enjoy!

  4. blessingsundreamtof said,

    GREAT links!!!! My 4 year old son will really enjoy doing some lapbooks!
    Thanks and blessings,
    :)Michelle

  5. Anonymous said,

    these links are a godsend! thank you so much. I was clicking through all the wonderful links and I was very excited to see the free online music and book but when I clicked on it, it was a preview to a book with a few pages. I have a feeling that I am not finding it correctly or maybe the link is not brining up the correct item. Wondering how I can obtain that particular item? thanks so much! collette

  6. Anonymous said,

    I went to click on the icon from the TOS homepage and your freebie fridays heading and topics haven't been updated since Nov. of 2007! What's up with that?!

Leave a Reply

