Getting Ready and Family Mealtime Devotions

August 31, 2009 at 10:13 am (Uncategorized)

Whew!  We made it through the first 2 weeks of Awana, the first homeschool meeting of the year, and my oldest sons birthday.  Last week was a cRaZy week!  (Did I mention we were without internet for 2 days due to a power surge, my husbands workplace had a sewage pipe break that sent him home to work those same 2 days AND we had a water main break on our street? ) Now I have six days to get things ready for the first day of school! 

A BIG thank you to the reader who sent me the link to these cool Family Mealtime Devotions from Focus on the Family!  I am going to print them out, put them in  a notebook and use them during school time with my kiddos. 

The topics are:

Wisdom From the Bible
Faith and Trust
Family
Salvation and Witnessing
Love
Following Jesus
Building Character

There are about 50 pdf files you can print on the above topics.  I really like that there is no prep time needed for these and that there is a Bible verse included for each one to back up the lesson.  I am thinking these would be a great way to start off our school day together!  (Right after breakfast of course! :^)

Okay, I am off to get busy prepping for the school year!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

P.S.  If anyone feels like praying for me I have a request.  I have misplaced my oldest sons Social Security card.  He needs it to get a driver’s permit.  We have lived in 6 houses since he was born and I have NO IDEA where his card has ended up!  (I have looked everywhere I can think of.) I have them for every other member of the family!  Sigh….I know I can get a new one, but I REALLY do not want to go to the SS office this week or ever.  :^) So I am praying for a miracle!  If you feel like joining me in prayer it would be SO appreciated!  Thanks!

3 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    oopps – see my comment on american girl books at mcdonalds

  2. mhabrych said,

    Thanks for sharing this! I am excited to use these too!

  3. Emily said,

    While I really hope you find the card, go online to the ss office's site. You should be able to print forms and maybe even make an appointment so there is no wait! Good luck and even more luck with a new river!

Leave a Reply

