Cootie Catcher Spelling Review

September 3, 2009 at 7:54 am (Uncategorized)

My daughter and I have been reviewing her second grade spelling list this week.  We start school "for real" next week and I just wanted to be sure she was strong on the 2nd grade words she learned last year.  To make it fun I incorporated it into a Cootie Catcher!

What I did was print the free blank Cootie-Catcher from HERE.  Then I folded it up and wrote all the spelling words I thought she might need to review under the flaps.  I was able to get 4 words under each number flap.   (HERE is the list of spelling words I use for each grade.) Then she picks a color and I open and close it once for each letter in the name of the color stopping in the open position so she can see the numbers.  Then she picks a number and I open and close it that many counts stopping with it open to the numbers again.  Then she picks another number.  I open that number flap and read one of the words to her that I have written there under the number she chose.  She LOVES it and keeps carry it off to play with and therefore is reviewing the words on her own!  YAY!!!

I love it when a plan comes together!  LOL

Instructions on how to fold and play with the Cootie-Catcher are HERE

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

1 Comment

  1. 4sweetums said,

    Thanks for reminding me about cootie catchers! I used to love those when I was a kid.
    Blessings,
    Dawn

Leave a Reply

