Box Day Take Two….All of the fun with none of the packing peanuts!

September 4, 2009 at 6:17 am (Uncategorized)

This is an exciting school year at our house!  My youngest 2 kiddos will be starting Sonlight!  I started my oldest son on Sonlight in Second Grade 8 years ago.  Last year my daughter was in second grade, but I decided to wait a year to start her on Core 2.  I wanted her younger brother to have another year to grow so he could do Core 2 with her.  (They are grades K and 3rd this year.)   As thrilled as I am to finally be using our Sonlight for a second time, I was a little disappointed that we wouldn’t have "Box Day".  If you hang out at the Sonlight website much you know what Box Day is!  It is the day your new box of Sonlight arrives for the year! People write in and tell about the excitement their children experience getting a big ole box of Sonlight delivered to their door!  We have had many a Box Day experiences over the years.  Each and every one of them are a treasured memory for me.  However, my littles won’t get to have that experience because we already own all the Cores we will be using.  Or will they? Yesterday morning I decided it was time to pull out Core 2 and take a look at exactly what we would be doing this year.  I pulled the Core 2 Rubbermaid out of the stack of Sonlight curriculum we have in the corner of the school room.  Then it occurred to me….Just because the box doesn’t get delivered to the door doesn’t mean we can’t open it and have some fun exploring together!  So I called the littles in to join me!

At first they acted a little suspicious.  What was in this box and why was mom taking their picture with it?

Once we opened up the Rubbermaid they started getting excited!

Then they started digging in and spreading all the books out!

Within a few minutes they had both made a pile of the books they most wanted to read right now!  LOL
There was even some arguing over who got to look at which books first!  (There is nothing better than hearing your kids argue over their school books! hehehe)

Even though it was over 8 years since the box was delivered they still had a wonderful Box Day!
(The packing slip I still have says we got this box in July of 2001!)

What FUN it was for me to time travel back 8 years and see all those great books again!  I can hardly wait to get reading!  Gems like 21 Balloons, The Toothpaste Millionaire and Detectives In Toga’s are just waiting to be read again!  It’s going to be a great year!

Happy Box Day Everyone!

Jamin

3 Comments

  1. TomySky said,

    Happy Box Day (take 2)! [smile]

    I love that about Sonlight: You can use the Cores over and over again because it's made up of all those fantastic books!

    ~Luke

  2. www.ShadyBayouAcademy.Blogspot.com said,

    Sweet box day. 🙂 We should have one ourselves this winter. 🙂

  3. Anonymous said,

    We love our Sonlight Box Day! It is like Christmas in July–Aug whatever month it is. Last year's core 1 is stored in the garage in a rubbermaid container. It will be great fun to pull it out again in four years for the next set of boys to tear through. C & W are doing core 2 this year–so fun to see that their cousins have some of the same school. Happy Homeschool'n!

    Callie

Leave a Reply

