Cheap and Easy Group Craft

September 14, 2009 at 8:24 am (Uncategorized)

Our homeschool group had a Back To School Party last Friday.  One of the things we did was make a banner to hang in one of the rooms we use for the homeschool group.  This was a super simple and inexpensive craft. 

Teach me your way O LORD, and I will walk in your truth. Psalm 86:11


I bought 1 1/2 yards of white muslin (at $1.49 a yard.)  Then I hemmed the raw edges on my machine. 

To get the verse in the middle I typed it up it as large as I could in Word and printed it.  Then I put the paper under the fabric flat on a table and copied it with a Sharpie marker onto the muslin.

We used plane ole washable kid’s paint to paint each of their hands and stamp it on the fabric.  (It will obviously NOT be washable!) Then then each kid wrote their name under their hand print with a Sharpie.  (Be sure to put something under it when you write with the Sharpies because it will bleed through.)

I just LOVE how it came out!  We had 35 kids at the party and this was something we could set up in the corner easily and rotate the kids through.  Now every time we have an event they will get to see their "handy work"! 

I love seeing all the different size hands together.  The kids ranged from toddlers to teenagers.  There is nothing more beautiful than kid art in my opinion!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

1 Comment

  1. Anonymous said,

    Jamin, yet another great idea. I love this!
    Shannon in Indiana <><
    http://www.homesteadblogger.com/runnelsrhapsody

Leave a Reply

