Josefina – Weaving Project

September 16, 2009 at 8:34 am (Uncategorized)

One of the projects we will be working on at American Girl Club for Josefina is weaving.  I searched around online and found THIS neat website with lots of great ideas on teaching kids to weave.  The one I chose to do with the girls is weaving on a cardboard loom. 

Here is one of my finished sample pieces.

How this works is that you take a 6X6 inch square of cardboard with small slits on the top and bottom.  (I made 12 slits on each end.)  Then you wrap your yarn around the cardboard and into the slits to get the warp threads.  Once you have all the warp threads (up and down ones) you can start weaving the weft threads. (Years ago I was taught that the "weft threads" go "right and weft".  I remember it to this day!)

Here is a sample that is in progress. 
You can see that my warp is a light purple and my weft is dark purple.  I also did samples of other items you can weave in.  The top one is a strip of denim with a bead on it.  The next one is a piece of chunky beige thread with a bead on it. And the last one is????  Any guesses????  DRYER LINT!  LOL  (Yes, I have all the AG mom’s saving their "pretty" dryer lint! hehehe)

My plan for these is to have the girls work on them a little each night after the other projects are done.  This way they can all sit around and talk, but still be learning and focusing on Josefina. The final night we will remove them from the looms and put them on a stick so they can hang them up at home. 

He has filled them with skill to do all kinds of work as craftsmen, designers, embroiderers in blue, purple and scarlet yarn and fine linen, and weavers—all of them master craftsmen and designers.
Exodus 35:35


Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

P.S.  I just had to share this picture of my daughter with her American Girl doll!


I was busy Tuesday getting everything ready for the first night of American Girl  Club.  My daughter asked me if she could have a scrap of the fabric from the skirt I made her.  Pretty soon she comes in and is showing me the outfit she put together for her doll! She had used the green skirt from Felicity’s Riding outfit, a white Onesie (She uses on her Bitty Babies that was left over from when her brother was a baby), the moccasins we made at AG Club for Kaya and she had made a Rebozo from the piece of fabric I gave her! I was going on and on about how creative she is….She looked at me dead serious and said "Mom, I am related to you, what do you expect?"  ROFL!!!  I love that girl!

5 Comments

  1. 4sweetums said,

    I have so enjoyed your post on your AG club. I look forward to starting my own in a year or two. Do you own several dolls or just one or two and the outfits for all the different time periods? Did I mention that I don't know how to sew at all. I was thinking about collecting the 6 inch dolls but I doubt they are as much fun. The regular size are a bit pricey for us and I am trying to decide how to add them into our home. We have two girls and mom wants one too. LOL!
    We love the movies and I am collecting the books and cook books.
    Blessings,
    Dawn

  2. Dana @ School For Us said,

    I love your daughter's creativity… and her comment! 🙂
    Dana, http://www.alexml.blogspot.com

  3. redaredding said,

    She's lovely and creative! Such a little lady.

  4. Anonymous said,

    Hi,
    You are really inspiring me with the American Girl club and all of the wonderful things you are doing in your club. I'd love to start doing these with my daughter. I'm putting the Josefina book on hold at our library and we're going to start delving into the world of the American Girls. I'm excited to start these with my almost 7 yr. old daughter. I love all of the crafts/sewing projects. We're going to have to buy a sewing machine and get busy learning!!
    Thank you! I'm enjoying your blog posts!
    Dawn Gray
    http://sonshineinthewildwood.blogspot.com

  5. LittleAnita said,

    Ah que linda su nina! That's spanish for "Oh how sweet your little girl." Josefina is my favorite because she is from the same culture and location as us! Her stories remind me of my childhood. I love to read them to my children because it gives them a good picture of how life used to be in our town up until about 15 years ago. Sadly, that heritage has been lost here because of all the people that have moved in and changed things.

    You did a good job on her skirt. If you'd ever like to experience the life and times of Josefina you can visit taoschamber.com. At the end of July we have the Fiestas. It's a city-wide celebration conducted exactly the same way as it was during the time of Josefina- complete with food, music and dancing!

Leave a Reply

