She Did It Again!

September 18, 2009 at 8:03 am (Uncategorized)

So yesterday I saw my daughter drawing this….


It totally made me think of Mondrian!  So we had our second spontaneous art lesson of the year!  We especially enjoyed looking at the Mondrian images we found doing a Google Search.  They Mondrian inspired car and building were our favorites!

My favorite part of our discussion was when she pointed out that her picture was done in much more pastel colors and his were all primaries.  She also thought it was interesting when we read that his older works didn’t have black lines, but the newer ones did.  Then she went on to draw a half dozen other pictures that included the black lines.  :^)

So now we have covered Escher and Mondrian for art this year.  I wonder who she will accidentally imitate next?  I am telling you my daughter is a walking Art Curriculum!  LOL

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

P.S.  I absolutely LOVE how she included the cross and the fish in her artwork!

3 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    Just wonderful!

  2. Sherri said,

    I'm impressed that you know enough about art to make the correlations. Sadly, that wouldn't work in our homeschool. As we go through our very relaxed art and music appreciation studies, the teacher is learning as much as the student.

    Love your blog, your great ideas, and your daughter's artwork!

  3. Anonymous said,

    Sorry I didn't see this until now, but I'm the one who took the pictures of the building. If you'd like to link to the blog post so people can see them, here is the address:

    http://www.lizardkingdom.org/archives/2005/11/mondrian_buildi.html

Leave a Reply

