So Here's the Deal

September 28, 2009 at 8:21 am (Uncategorized)

A month ago we had our first homeschool meeting of the year for our new parent support ministry at church.   As I stood up and talked to the group for the first time I vividly remember thinking "This school year is going to be so uncomplicated!"  It felt SO good to be going into a new school year without some major life change looming!  Over the last 8 years it has seemed that every school year has opened up with some major thing coming.  In the last 8 years we have lived in 4 houses in 3 different States. (Plus two temporary places for 3 months each while we were in transit.) We have added 2 new babies to the family, suffered 2 major job losses which of course were accompanied by periods of unemployment and uncertainty.  It’s been kinda cRaZy!  But, this year as I was looking forward I had a strange feeling of being settled.   We are unpacked from our major move 16 months ago, we are not planning on any more babies (I’m 44 for goodness sake!  LOL) and my husbands job is going really well!  Praise the Lord!!!! Then the phone call came….

Just a couple days after that first meeting we got a voicemail from the company we have been renting our house from for the last 16 months.  They have always been shifty and unreliable BUT, we didn’t see this coming!  The message said that they just noticed that we are "still" paying them rent.  They wanted to let us know that they sold our house "several month ago"  and they won’t be accepting anymore rent from us.  We need to pay the "new owner" (Who has never contacted us!) and not to contact them anymore.  Sigh…. It’s hard to pay someone when you don’t know who they are and they seem to not want to be found.

We honestly don’t know exactly what is going on.  But, we have reason to believe that the new "mystery owner" is not paying the mortgage. I think we were just really fortunate that we got the heads up on this a little in advance and didn’t just get evicted when the bank takes back the house.  So much for my high hopes for a uncomplicated school year!  LOL

The one thing I have learned over the years is that the only thing that is certain is uncertainty!

I have spent the better part of the last month house hunting!  I am pleased to report we have found a LOVELY new home and will be starting to move a THIS FRIDAY!  Once again God has used difficulties in our lives to bless us! As much as I am not looking forward to going through ANOTHER move we have found an absolutely AMAZING house!  It is 3000 square feet, which is (this is almost unreal to me…) 1100 square feet BIGGER than where we are now.  The neighborhood is lovely and quiet.  It’s a 4 bedroom so my darling daughters life long dream of having her own room is about to be realized!  (Although I suspect she and her little brother will take turns sleeping in each others rooms for years to come!  hehehe) 

Here it is….

Here is the living room, which will be our schoolroom.

And the family room.

The kitchen and eating area.

The MAMMOTH master bedroom!
Which will otherwise know as the upstairs family room!  LOL

The master vanity.
2 sinks = marital harmony!  LOL (There is also a wonderful, deep soaking tub and a shower that is SO BIG that it has dual shower heads!)

MY closet! 
(Yep, this one is all mine because the master bedroom has 2 walk in closets! Please don’t pinch me because if I am dreaming I don’t want to wake up! hehehe)

I cannot even tell you how blessed we feel to be moving into this house!  I would say it’s the house of our dreams, but honestly I never dreamed of living in anything this big!  LOL  God is SO awesome to give us more than we would ever even ask for!

Now back to the title of this post…So here’s the deal….Needless to say I am overwhelmed with things to do.  Cutting back is essential and my blog is one place I will be cutting back.  I will be making myself scarce around here for the time being.  We still have 4 weeks of Josefina to do for American Girl Club and I plan to post about those.  I know there are people who are following along and I don’t want to leave anyone in a lurch!  But, after Josefina we will be taking a break from American Girl Club until January.  If I remember I will try to post my Freebie Friday posts here too.  Other than that I probably won’t post on a very regular basis for the next few months.  Once we are moved in and have made it through the holidays I hope to get back to my daily posts.  But for now, I have to find the time and energy to get us from point A to our new point B. 

If you want to be notified when I post you might want to subscribe to my blog.  Otherwise feel free to check back for my occasional post.

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Prayers for a easy transition and the ability to somehow still keep school on track would be greatly appreciated!

I’ll see you soon from our all new location!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

11 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    I'm so glad you did not find out the hard way that the place might be foreclosed – and so glad you are blessed with such a beautiful place to call home. Praying the move goes smoothly and that there are no repercussions to your family because of the strange situation in the first house.
    K-Sue
    createdforgoodworks.blogspot.com

  2. Anonymous said,

    That is great news. So happy for you! Good luck in the move. so much work but you know that! We just moved in July. Still trying to get settled.
    Susan
    fromthenarrows.com

  3. Angie F. said,

    Our Pastor just preached this to us on Sunday! That sometimes God uses bad things to bless us! We have to go through the bad to get to the good. The title of his message was "There is more to this than Honey" but he elaborated that that the honey is there and when God gives it to us we don't care what we went through to get it. lol I am happy for you all! God Bless You!

  4. Anonymous said,

    Oh, how fun. I'd love a bigger place, but it isn't going to happen here. My two are about to leave the nest, but then they can't come back married at the same time because there is only one bedroom besides ours. Bummer!

    Glad for you. Keep us posted. It looks like a charming house.

  5. http://fourlittlepenguins.blogspot.com said,

    Congrats!!!
    Isn't it amazing what God can do?

  6. Anonymous said,

    Congratulations! I'm envious, but I just got over it! It looks fabulous! We'll miss your posts, but totally understand. I'll be praying for a quick, efficient move and settling in and that it will go so smoothly you'll be back to posting before the holidays! LOL! That's faith for ya.

    Have loved following your blog.
    Dawn Gray
    sonshineinthewildwood.blogspot.com

  7. Anonymous said,

    Will miss your posts! But am so happy for your blessing! Enjoy the new house and make great memories this holiday season! Thanks for sharing and can't wait til you can share again!

  8. Anonymous said,

    Jamin, we'll definitely pray for your family during this transition. Wow, what shock! But the new place looks awesome! May God give you peace and sanity and lots of blessing along the journey!
    Shannon in Indiana <><
    http://www.homesteadblogger.com/runnelsrhapsody

  9. Anonymous said,

    Jamin, we'll definitely pray for your family during this transition. Wow, what shock! But the new place looks awesome! May God give you peace and sanity and lots of blessing along the journey!
    Shannon in Indiana <><
    http://www.homesteadblogger.com/runnelsrhapsody

  10. tlpgina said,

    The house looks fabulous! Best wishes and prayers for an uneventful move and settling in.
    gina

  11. jolenecmom said,

    OMGsh that new house is gorgeous. All the best for the move and hope you get settled quickly

    God Bless

Leave a Reply

