Apollo Eight Astronauts Read From Genesis 1968

November 9, 2009 at 8:19 am (Uncategorized)

The other night my daughter came to me with her Awana book and said "It says in here that in the 60’s the Astronauts read from the book of Genesis on Christmas Eve from the Moon. Is that true or something Awana just made up?" I happened to be sitting at the computer so I played this for her…

http://www.archive.org/details/Genesis-ApolloEight-24Dec1968

Pretty cool!

I am assuming I don’t remember this from the original airing since I was only 3 in 1968!  But I do remember hearing it before.  It is quite touching to listen to and somewhat sad to think about how much our world has changed in the last 40 years.  I can’t imagine something like this happening today and obviously neither could my daughter since she thought they had made it up for Awana.

I am praying for a revival for America! How awesome it would be to NOT be surprised to hear prayer in this country!  How wonderful it would be for my children and grandchildren to live in an America that honored the one true God! Please join me in praying for our country. 

Blessed is the nation whose God is the LORD, 

the people he chose for his inheritance.

Psalms 33:12


Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

2 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    I heard an astronaut interviewed once on a documentary that it was possible to go to out into space without believing in God, but it was *impossible* to look back on earth and not believe in Him.

    Unfortunately, I can't remember which astronaut said it!

  2. Anonymous said,

    I never learnt that in school, thats for sure. I am praying with you and believing for a miracle that God will change our hearts back towards him as a nation.
    P.S. I am brand new to homeschooling, have not yet started my son will be 3 in Jan. I am so blessed by your blog, thank you so much and keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

