First Thanksgiving Dinner Celebration!

November 16, 2009 at 8:25 am (Uncategorized)

Our First Thanksgiving Dinner was Friday and it was AWESOME!  We had 40 kids from 18 families attend for a total of 60 people in attendance.  (Just a few more than the 53 Pilgrims at the first Thanksgiving!)

Here is the day in pictures…

Here I am with my 2 youngest.  (Oh, come on you knew you would see me dressed like a Pilgrim at some point!  LOL  My costume was just a black shirt and skirt I had in my closet.  Then I wore one of the hats I had made and added a collar and apron made from white felt. Super simple!)

Here are some of the Indians and Pilgrims arrving.

My handsome Indian teenager!
His shirt is a white t-shirt we tea stained and then fringed the edges with scissors.  It was super easy!  (I boiled about a gallon of water and then seeped 7 tea bags until it was pretty dark.  Then I removed the tea bags and soaked the shirt for about 30 minutes.  Then I put the t-shirt through the spin cycle of the washer and ran it through the dryer.  Once it was dry we fringed the edges with scissors.  You could add beads too.)


After everyone arrived and got their hats on I spent a few minutes talking to the kids about the first Thanksgiving.  Here are some of the kids listening to me talk.
I asked them lots of questions too so they all got to tell what they know about the first thanksgiving.

Then we had a story.
The First Thanksgiving By: Linda Hayward

Here is my daughter reciting a poem she memorized as the blessing for the food.

The First Thanksgiving

When the Pilgrims
first gathered together to share
with their Indian friends
in the mild autumn air,
they lifted the voices
in jubilant praise
for the bread on the table,
the berries and maize,
for field and for forest,
for turkey and deer,
for the bountiful crops
they were blessed with that year.
They were thankful for these
as they feasted away,
and as they were thankful
we’re thankful today.

Author Unknown

She did an AWESOME job.  I was so proud of her!

The FOOD!
We had turkey, fish, deer stew, fruit, nuts, cheese, corn chowder, potatoes, cranberry salad, apple sauce, and a lot more!  Yummy!!!!

Pilgrims and Indians eating together.

Lots of yummy food!

We also played games.  Here are a few of the pilgrim girls heading out to play games.

And my WILD Indian boy!

3 Legged Races!

Corn Toss

The Turkey Shoot!

There was also a corn hunt (Similar to a egg hunt except dry corn was thrown in the grass and everyone hunted for it.) and pumpkin races where the kids pushed a pumpkin with a stick, The games were great!

And lastly we made our craft (Which the kids LOVED and I didn’t get any pictures of.) and then played Thanksgiving Jingo!

It was an awesome day.  I can’t wait to do it again next year!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

Click HERE to read my post on planning out this party.  :^)

2 Comments

  1. Jen@Balancing Beauty and Bedlam said,

    Looks like everyone had a wonderful time. The Pilgrim outfits are amazing. 🙂
    Balancing Beauty and Bedlam
    http://www.beautyandbedlam.com

  2. Anonymous said,

    What an amazing First Thanksgiving!! Thank You for sharing all the pictures and how you planned it all.

Leave a Reply

