Today I Am Thankful For…

November 26, 2009 at 8:39 am (Uncategorized)

This month I decided to write down one thing each day that I am thankful for.  It has been an interesting experience.  What I have learned is that the "things" I am most thankful for are not "things" at all.  They are mostly people, relationships and blessings.  Here is the bulk of my list.  Some are more private things that I didn’t want to share with the whole world. :^)

Today I am thankful for my family. What a wonderful husband and children I have been blessed with.

Today I am thankful for my dog Elvis. He is so loving and devoted to me. A consistent reminder of how I want to love God and others.

Today I am thankful for freedom. God bless all the veterans past and present who have sacrificed to give us freedom. God bless America!

Today I am thankful for our church home. Wow, what an awesome church home God has blessed us with! A place where we can serve, as well as be served. A place for friendship, encouragement  and deep commitment to spreading God’s Word.

Today I am thankful for homeschooling.  What a blessing homeschooling has been to our family! I know that the time and energy I have invested in my kids will pay back dividends their entire lives!

Today I am thankful for all my homeschool mom friends. Each of you have encouraged, supported and loved me on my homeschool journey. You are each a blessing to me!

Today I am thankful for my husbands job. He enjoys the work and the people he works with. The kids and I enjoy that he has nights and weekends off. (Something we missed A LOT the 6 years at his last job.) It’s a winning combination for a happy home!

Today I am thankful for AWANA. Our family has been involved in AWANA for 13 years, in 3 States at 7 churches. Each and every one has been a place that has brought us closer to God. Over the years we have hid His Word in our hearts, made friends and found a place to serve others through AWANA. What a blessing!

Today I am thankful for my new house! It’s been 6 weeks since we got the keys and 4 weeks since we spent our first night here and it totally feels like home. :^)

Today I am thankful for my job at The Old Schoolhouse Magazine. I get paid to write, which is a dream come true for me. I get to write about homeschooling, which I love. I get to work my own hours, from home, with my kids underfoot. It’s a win-win!

Today I am thankful for our new homeschool parent support ministry at church. My friend and I started it this year. I have been so blessed to get to know and grow with so many great homeschool parents. I am especially thankful for my friend who is my ministry partner in both Awana and the new homeschool group. She is an amazing blessing to me!

Today I am thankful for our friends M, A, I and C. It has been so great having "old" friends in a new place! Getting to be close to our "nephews" has been wonderful! I am so glad to have adopted family close by. :^)

Today I am thankful that my mom taught me to sew when I was young. I love to sew. Sewing relaxes me. Being able to save money making or fixing things instead of buying new has been a great blessing to our family over the years. :^)

Today I am Thankful that my mom arrives this afternoon to spend Thanksgiving week with us. I have some excited kids on my hands!

Today I am thankful for my parents and my sister.  :^)

Today I am thankful for my "PAMily". You know who you are! ;^)

Today I am thankful for my blog. It is a blessing to me as a creative outlet as well as a place to connect with other homeschoolers all over the world.

Today I am thankful for my American Girls! (And their mom’s.) American Girl Club has been such a blessing to me. I look forward to learning American history with my girls for a long time to come!

Today I am thankful for John 3:16!  "For God so loved the world that He gave his one and only son that whoever believes in Him will no perish but have ever lasting life."  The ultimate free gift!

I pray that each and every one of you have an equally wonderful list of blessings! 

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

Jamin

1 Comment

  1. Anonymous said,

    Another beautiful post, Jamin! Indeed, we have so much to be thankful for, as parents, as homeschoolers, as Americans, and as believers in Jesus Christ! God bless you and may your life and home be full of much thanks-giving these days 🙂

    Shannon in Indiana
    http://www.lightathome.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

